November 13, 2009

NEW YORK ( -- Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter and Phillies second baseman Chase Utley both earned their fourth Silver Sluggers.

Torii Hunter earned his first Silver Slugger at 35 just two days after winning his ninth straight AL Gold Glove for fielding excellence.

Five National Leaguers repeated their 2008 honor: first baseman Albert Pujols, shortstop Hanley Ramirez, catcher Brian McCann, outfielder Ryan Braun and pitcher Carlos Zambrano.

Since 1980, winners of the Silver Slugger Award have been chosen by votes of Major League managers and coaches, prohibited from selecting players on their own teams.

The honorees:

You May Like