Mark Cunningham/MLB Photos via Getty Images

How to watch the 2016 Home Run Derby.

By SI Wire
July 05, 2016

Your teams. Your favorite writers. Wherever you want them. Personalize SI with our new App. Install on iOS or Android.​

The 2016 MLB Home Run Derby takes place on Monday at San Diego’s Petco Park.

The derby is a bracket–style competition, with eight total competitors. Mark Trumbo (Orioles) and Corey Seager (Dodgers) will face off in the first round, along with Robinson Cano (Mariners) and Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins). On the other side of the bracket, Adam Duvall (Reds) will play Wil Myers (Padres), and Todd Frazier (White Sox) will face Carlos Gonzalez (Rockies). 

Frazier won the competition last year as a member of the Reds. 

Home Run Derby preview: Field, format and Petco Park

See how to watch Monday’s competition below. 

How to watch

When: 8 p.m. ET


Live stream: Watch the Home Run Derby online here.

Past winners

2015: Todd Frazier, Reds

2014: Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics

2013: Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics (New York, Citi Field)

2012: Prince Fielder, Tigers

2011: Robinson Cano, Yankees

2010: David Ortiz, Red Sox

2009: Prince Fielder, Brewers

2008: Justin Morneau, Twins

2007: Vladimir Guerrero, Angels

2006: Ryan Howard, Phillies

2005: Bobby Abreu, Phillies

2004: Miguel Tejada, Orioles

2003: Garret Anderson, Angels

2002: Jason Giambi, Yankees

2001: Luis Gonzalez, Diamondbacks 

2000: Sammy Sosa, Cubs

1999: Ken Griffey Jr., Mariners

1998: Ken Griffey Jr., Mariners

1997: Tino Martinez, Yankees 

1996: Barry Bonds, Giants

1995: Frank Thomas, White Sox

1994: Ken Griffey Jr., Mariners

1993: Juan Gonzalez, Rangers

1992: Mark McGwire, Athletics

1991: Cal Ripken, Orioles

1990: Ryne Sandberg, Cubs

1989: Ruben Sierra, Rangers

1988: Rained out

1987: Andre Dawson, Cubs

1986: Wally Joyner, Angels and Darryl Strawberry, Mets

1985: Dave Parker, Reds

You May Like