MLB announces finalists for major season awards

The finalists for the MVP, Cy Young and Rookie of the Year awards have been announced. 
Publish date:

The finalists for MLB’s major awards, including the MVP, Cy Young and Rookie of the Year, were announced Monday. 

Award voting was conducted at the end of the regular season and the winners will be announced next week, beginning on Nov. 14. 

There are only a few mild surprises on the list of finalists. Orioles closer Zach Britton, who had one of the most dominant relief seasons in history, is not among the finalists for the AL Cy Young. Yankees catcher Gary Sanchez played in just 53 games but hit 20 home runs and is a finalist for AL Rookie of the Year. Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw missed significant time with a back injury and is not a Cy Young finalist. 

The full list of nominees is below. 


• Mike Trout, Angels

• Jose Altuve, Astros

• Mookie Betts, Red Sox


• Kris Bryant, Cubs

• Corey Seager, Dodgers

• Daniel Murphy, Nationals

AL Cy Young

• Rick Porcello, Red Sox

• Corey Kluber, Indians

• Justin Verlander, Tigers

NL Cy Young

• Max Scherzer, Nationals

• Kyle Hendricks, Cubs

• Jon Lester, Cubs

AL Rookie of the Year

• Michael Fulmer, Tigers

• Gary Sanchez, Yankees

• Tyler Naquin, Indians

NL Rookie of the Year

• Kenta Maeda, Dodgers

• Corey Seager, Dodgers

• Trea Turner, Nationals

AL Manager of the Year

• Jeff Bannister, Rangers

• Terry Francona, Indians

• Buck Showalter, Orioles

NL Manager of the Year

• Dusty Baker, Nationals

• Joe Maddon, Cubs

• Dave Roberts, Dodgers