According to the rules, this shouldn’t be an out. 

By Dan Gartland
September 18, 2017

Is it a full moon tonight, because all sorts of weird stuff is happening in sports. Matt Prater’s indescribably fortunate bounce on a field goal was strange, but this is even more incredible. 

Phillies pitcher Nick Pivetta somehow managed to have a comebacker slip between the buttons on his shirt, which the umpire called a catch. 

But that shouldn’t have been an out! Here’s the relevant portion of MLB Rule 5.09(a):

A catch is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession

That’s clearly a missed call by home plate umpire Brian O’Nora, but it made for a cooler video. 

You May Like