Thome, Belle, Robinson and Jamieson to Be Inducted into the Indians HOF

Publish date:

The Indians will induct four franchise legends into the club’s Hall of Fame in a ceremony on July 30 at Progressive Field.

Jim Thome, the Indians all-time home run king; Albert Belle, still the only 50-50 man in baseball history; Frank Robinson, the first African-American manager in baseball history; and Charlie Jamieson, who hit .316 over 14 seasons with the Indians and was a member of the 1920 World Series team, will be inducted before the Indians game against the Oakland A’s. A Jim Thome HOF Bobblehead, courtesy of Medical Mutual, will be distributed to 15,000 fans that evening.

The quartet’s induction now makes the Indians Hall of Fame 44 members strong after Omar Vizquel’s induction in 2014.

”These are four of the all-time great players in our franchise’s storied history, and through their individual personalities and achievements, each has created his own special memories for generations of Indians fans,” said Indians Senior Vice President of Public Affairs Bob DiBiasio. “We’re excited to officially recognize their contributions to our franchise and the game of baseball by inducting them into the Indians Hall of Fame.”

Thome played 13 seasons in all for the Indians, and his 337 homers and 1,008 walks in a Tribe uniform are the most in club history. He was a three-time All-Star as a member of the Indians, and four times finished in the top 10 in American League MVP voting.

He ranks second in club history in RBI (937), third in on-base percentage (.414), slugging percentage (.592) and OPS (.980), and 10th in doubles (263). Thome is first-time eligible for the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2018.

Belle, too, was one of the most feared hitters in baseball during his prime; he hit 50 homers and 52 doubles in 1995, and remains the only Major League player in history to accomplish that feat. He was a four-time All-Star and Silver Slugger Award winner with the Tribe, and three times finished in the top three in AL MVP voting.

He ranks second in club history in homers, with 242, second in slugging percentage (.580), fifth in OPS (.949) and 10th in RBI (751).

Robinson played the final three years of his stellar career in Cleveland, but is far better remembered for being a pioneer: He became the first African-American manager in baseball history, and served as player-manager from 1975-1976.

After hitting 586 career homers for five teams, Robinson managed the Indians for parts of three seasons, and eventually managed four teams. He won 1,065 games over 16 seasons, and was the 1989 AL Manager of the Year.

Jamieson played the final 14 years of his career (12 full seasons) with the Indians, hitting .316 and scoring 942 runs over those seasons. He also was a member of the 1920 World Series champions.

He ranks fifth in club history in hits (1,753), seventh in doubles (296), ninth in average and walks (627), 10th in triples (74) and 11th in on-base percentage (.388).


CA SANDY ALOMAR- Inducted 2009
OF EARL AVERILL- Inducted 1951
2B CARLOS BAERGA- Inducted 2013
P JIM BAGBY, SR.-Inducted 2007
OF ALBERT BELLE – Inducted 2016
SS LOU BOUDREAU- Inducted 1954
3B BILL BRADLEY- Inducted 1957
SS RAY CHAPMAN- Inducted 2006
OF ROCKY COLAVITO- Inducted 2006
P STAN COVELESKI- Inducted 1966
OF LARRY DOBY- Inducted 1966
P BOB FELLER- Inducted 1957
P WES FERRELL- Inducted 2009
OF ELMER FLICK- Inducted 1963
P MIKE GARCIA- Inducted 2007
MGR/2B JOE GORDON- Inducted 2008
P MEL HARDER- Inducted 1951
MGR/1B MIKE HARGROVE- Inducted 2008
CA JIM HEGAN- Inducted 1966
OF JOE JACKSON- Inducted 1951
P ADDIE JOSS- Inducted 2006
3B KEN KELTNER- Inducted 1951
2B NAP LAJOIE- Inducted 1951
P BOB LEMON- Inducted 1960
OF KENNY LOFTON- Inducted 2010
MGR. AL LOPEZ- Inducted 2006
P SAM McDOWELL- Inducted 2006
P CHARLES NAGY- Inducted 2007
CA STEVE O’NEILL- Inducted 1951
P SATCHEL PAIGE- Inducted 1965
MRG. FRANK ROBINSON – Inducted 2016
3B AL ROSEN- Inducted 2006
P HERB SCORE- Inducted 2006
SS JOE SEWELL- Inducted 1951
OF TRIS SPEAKER- Inducted 1951
3B JIM THOME – Inducted 2016
1B/DH ANDRE THORNTON- Inducted 2007
1B HAL TROSKY- Inducted 1951
SS OMAR VIZQUEL – Inducted 2014
P EARLY WYNN- Inducted 1972
P CY YOUNG- Inducted 1951