Jacob deGrom Wins Back-to-Back NL Cy Young Awards

Rob Lep

Back-to-back deGromination.

New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom is the 2019 National League Cy Young Award winner, clinching his second straight time taking home the hardware.

He's the first pitcher in Mets history to win the award back-to-back. Mets Legend Tom Seaver won the award on three separate occasions but never in consecutive years.

DeGrom received 29 of 30 first-place votes with the Los Angeles Dodgers' Hyun-Jin Ryu getting the only other vote.

As ESPN Stats points out: "deGrom is one of six players ever to post consecutive seasons with at least 250 strikeouts and an ERA below 2.50. The other five pitchers are all in the Hall of Fame and four of the six won consecutive Cy Youngs during their span."

After starting the season 3-5 with a 3.98 ERA in his first nine starts, DeGrom was spectacular from that point on, finishing the year 11-8 with a 2.43 ERA and a league-leading 204 strikeouts.