Skip to main content

Nov. 10 was a day in Philadelphia Phillies history that has been defined by the awards that were handed out on this day. This trend has gone on for over three decades.

We'll need to go back to 1987 for the first award, when the NL Cy Young Award was given to Phillies closer Steve Bedrosian, who had set a team record with 40 saves in a season. The vote for the award is the closest a vote has ever been with Bedrosian winning out over Chicago Cubs' Rick Sutcliffe in a vote of 57-55.

Fast forward 12 years to 1999, when Mike Lieberthal won his first and only Gold Glove. Lieberthal won the award after he maintained a fielding percentage of .997, and a dWAR of 0.7.

Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports


Jump ahead to 2006 for the next batch of awards, in this case, two Silver Slugger awards which were given to infielders Ryan Howard and Chase Utley. For Howard, this would be his only Silver Slugger award, being awarded for hitting a MLB-leading 58 home runs and driving in 149. On top of the Silver Slugger, Howard would be named the NL MVP as well as winning the 2006 Home Run Derby. 2006 was quite the year for the Philadelphia first baseman.

As for Utley, this would be the first of four consecutive Silver Slugger awards, earning it after hitting .309/.379/.527, 32 home runs, and 102 RBI. 2006 would just be the start of something great with Utley.

Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports

The final award that was given out on this day would be in 2010 when Shane Victorino took home his third straight Gold Glove. The Flyin' Hawaiian wouldn't win another Golden Glove whilst donning the red pinstripes, but it'd happen while he was with the World Champion Boston Red Sox in 2013.

More From SI's Inside The Phillies:

Make sure to follow Inside the Phillies on Facebook and Twitter!