The Favorite Angel: Trout Leads All-Star Voting -- Again


From the Media Offices of MLB

Two-time American League Most Valuable Player Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels and reigning National

League Most Valuable Player Christian Yelich of the Milwaukee Brewers were leading vote-getters in the fans' selections of the starters in the 2019 Major League Baseball All-Star Game July 9th at Progressive Field in Cleveland.

Trout was the leading vote-getter in the Starters Election, earning his eighth consecutive All-Star selection and seventh straight fan-elected starting assignment. Trout became the most elected Angel players in fan voting, surpassing Hall of Famer Rod Carew, who was a fan-elected starter on six occasions. Yelich was the top vote-getter in the NL.

Trout joined in the AL outfield by Astros teammates George Springer and Michael Brantley, who become the third pair of teammates to earn starting AL outfield nods in the last five years, Kansas City’s Lorenzo Cain and Alex Gordon in 2015, and Boston’s Jackie Bradley Jr. and Mookie Betts in 201.

Springer is an All-Star for the third time in his career (also 2017-18) and a fan-elected starter for the second time (2017), while Brantley, who finished less than one percentage poiunt ahead of the fourth-place Aaron Judge of the New York Yankees, received his fourth career All-Star nod (also 2014, 2017-18) and first career fan-elected start.

Springer is the first Astros outfielder to win multiple fan elections, and just the third Astros player overall to do so, joining teammate Jose Altuve (four) and Hall of Famer Craig Biggio (four).

The AL infield features four players who earned their first career starting assignments, including first baseman

Carlos Santana of the host Cleveland Indians, second baseman DJ LeMahieu of the Yankees, third baseman Alex

Bregman of the Astros and Jorge Polanco of the Twins. Santana and Polanco are All-Stars for the first time in their

careers, while Bregman earns his second All-Star selection (also 2018) and LeMahieu makes his third, having been a reserve on the NL team in 2015 and 2017 when he was with the Rockies.

Santana outpaced Luke Voit of the Yankees and C.J. Cron of the Twins to join Hall of Famer Jim Thome (1998-99) as the only Indians first basemen to win a fan election.

Polanco defeated Gleyber Torres of the Yankees and Carlos Correa of the Astros to become the second Twins shortstop to earn a fan-elected starting assignment, joining Roy Smalley (1979), and the first Twins infielder overall to do so since first baseman Justin Morneau in 2010.

LeMahieu edged out Houston’s Jose Altuve, who has won the starting assignment in each of the last four years, as well as Tommy La Stella of the Angels. LeMahieu joins Willie Randolph (1977, 1981, 1987), Steve Sax (1990), Alfonso Soriano

(2002-03) and Robinson Canó (2010-13) as Yankees second basemen to win a fan election. Bregman beat out Hunter Dozier of the Kansas City Royals and Gio Urshela of the Yankees to become the first third baseman in Astros history to receive a fan-elected starting assignment.

Rounding out the AL starting squad is designated hitter Hunter Pence of the Texas Rangers and catcher Gary Sánchez of the Yankees. Pence topped 2018 starter J.D. Martinez of the Red Sox and Nelson Cruz of the Twins to earn the starting nod, becoming the second Rangers DH to win, joining Hall of Famer Vladimir Guerrero (2010). Pence is now an All-Star for the fourth time in his career (also 2009, 2011, 2014) and a fan-elected starter for the first time.

Sanchez defeated James McCann of the Chicago White Sox and Robinson Chirinos of the Astros to earn the start. It marks his second All-Star selection (also 2017) and first starting assignment. He joins Thurman Munson (1975-76) and Jorge Posada (2002-03) as the only Yankees backstops to win fan elections since 1970.

Image placeholder title

In the NL, Yelich finished the Starters Election as the leading vote-getter among NL finalists to earn his second All-Star selection (also 2018) and first fan election. Yelich joins teammate Ryan Braun (2008-11) and Carlos Gómez (2014) as the only outfielders in Brewers history to receive a fan-elected start. He will be joined in the NL outfield by fellow starters Cody Bellinger of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Ronald Acuña Jr. of the Atlanta Braves. Bellinger, who tallied the most votes across the Majors during “The Primary,” also receives his second career All-Star nod (also 2017) and first fan election, while Acuña, the 2018 NL Rookie of the Year, is an All-Star for the first time in his career. This marks the second consecutive year for a Dodgers and Braves outfielder to win a fan election, following Matt Kemp (LA) and Nick Markakis (ATL) in 2018.

The starting trio was followed by fellow finalists Charlie Blackmon of the Colorado Rockies; Markakis; Jason Heyward, Kyle Schwarber and Albert Almora of the Chicago Cubs; and Joc Pederson of the Dodgers.

Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado beat out Atlanta’s Josh Donaldson and Chicago’s Kris Bryant for his fifth All-Star selection (also 2015-18) and third consecutive fan-elected start. Arenado becomes the first NL third baseman to win three consecutive fan elections since Scott Rolen won four straight from 2002-05 while with St. Louis (2002) and Philadelphia (2003-05). The only other NL third basemen to win three straight since fan voting was restored in 1970 were Hall of Famer Mike Schmidt (six straight from 1979-84) and Matt Williams (three straight from 1994-96).

In addition, Arenado matches former Rockies Todd Helton and Larry Walker for the most fan elections in franchise history.

Arenado is joined on the left side of the NL infield by Javier Báez of the Cubs, who garners his second All-Star selection (also 2018) and second consecutive starting nod. Báez, who beat out Trevor Story of the Rockies and Dansby Swanson of the Braves, was the NL’s starting second baseman in 2018. He becomes the first player to ever win fan elections at both second base and shortstop, and he joins teammate Addison Russell (2016) and Don Kessinger (1970, 1972) as the only
Cubs shortstops to earn fan elections since 1970.

Across the diamond, Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman edged out Josh Bell of the Pittsburgh Pirates by just 1.1%, marking the closest race for a starting job in the NL. Chicago’s Anthony Rizzo followed as Freeman earned his fourth career All-Star nod (also 2013-14, 2018) and second straight fan election. He joins fellow first baseman Fred McGriff (1995-96) and Hall of Fame third baseman Chipper Jones (2000-01) as the only Braves infielders to win consecutive fan-elected starts. Arizona Diamondbacks second baseman Ketel Marte will join Freeman on the right side of the infield after topping Freeman’s Braves teammate Ozzie Albies and Milwaukee’s Mike Moustakas. This marks Marte’s first career All-Star selection as he becomes the second-ever D-backs second baseman to earn a starting assignment (also Jay Bell, 1999). Marte is just the fifth different D-backs player in franchise history to receive a starting nod, joining Bell, Matt Williams (1999), Luis Gonzalez (2001) and Paul Goldschmidt (2014-15).

Behind the plate, Cubs catcher Willson Contreras outpaced Brian McCann of the Braves and Yasmani Grandal of the Brewers to claim his second straight All-Star selection and starting job, becoming the first Cubs catcher to earn back-to-back starting assignments. Along with Báez, the teammates are the first Cubs to win consecutive fan elections since Sammy Sosa won four straight from 1999-2002.

Image placeholder title


MLB At Large