Rays' Myers, Marlins' Fernandez win Rookie of the Year awards

Monday November 11th, 2013

Wil Myers, RaysWil Myers was a popular preseason pick for AL Rookie of the Year honors. (AP)

Rays outfielder Wil Myers and Marlins pitcher Jose Fernandez won the Baseball Writers' Association of America Rookie of the Year awards on Monday. Myers took the AL honor by a comfortable margin over Tigers shortstop Jose Iglesias and Tampa Bay teammate Chris Archer. Fernandez won by a slightly narrower margin over Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig and Cardinals pitcher Shelby Miller.

Myers got 23 first-place votes and 131 points overall; Iglesias had five firsts and 80 points; Archer, the only pitcher among the AL finalists, got one first-place vote and finished with 35 points. In the NL, Fernandez was the first choice of 26 voters and had 142 points overall, 47 more than Puig, who got four first-place votes.

Myers, 22, played just 88 games but batted .293 with 13 home runs and 53 RBIs and helped the Rays reach the postseason. He was acquired in a blockbuster trade last December with the Kansas City Royals.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.