Getty Images

UFC fighters Conor McGregor and Holly Holm both walked away with ESPYs on Wednesday night.

By Mike Dyce
July 13, 2016

Your teams. Your favorite writers. Wherever you want them. Personalize SI with our new App. Install on iOS or Android.

No fighter had a bigger year than UFC featherweight champion Conor McGregor, and on Wednesday the brash Irishman walked away with the Best Fighter award at The ESPYs. McGregor started the 2015 year on a UFC on FOX card following an NFL playoff game, fighting Dennis Siver, a fight he won by TKO in the second round.

McGregor then went on on to call for a title shot against Jose Aldo, launching a world tour to promote the fight, and anchoring the two biggest fight weeks on the UFC calendar in July and December. He went on to win the interim featherweight title against Chad Mendes at UFC 189 and knocked out Aldo in 13 seconds to unify the featherweight belts at UFC 194.

Top 200 UFC fighters of all-time

It is the second year in a row that a UFC fighter has walked away with this particular ESPY, Ronda Rousey won in 2015 as she walked the red carpet to go in, using her impromptu acceptance speech to troll Floyd Mayweather. McGregor was also nominated for “Breakthrough Athlete” award, which was won by Chicago Cubs pitcher Jake Arrieta.

Holly Holm also walked away with an ESPY for Best Upset for her knockout victory of the previously undefeated Rousey at UFC 193 for the women's bantamweight championship.

McGregor is looking to avenge his loss to Nate Diaz at UFC 202 in late August. Holm is returning to action against Valentina Shevchenko at UFC on FOX 20 in Chicago in roughly a week.

Rousey, meanwhile, hinted at a possible comeback with her newest ad for Reebok.

You May Like