Gregg, Jing win speedskating World Cup sprint races

BERLIN (AP) -- Jamie Gregg of Canada won the 500 meter sprint at the World Cup finals Friday for his first victory of the season.

Gregg won in 35.06 seconds with Pekka Koskela of Finland second, 0.01 seconds behind. Mo Tae-bum of South Korea was third.

American Tucker Fredricks was 14th but still leads the World Cup standings by 26 points over Koskela going into Sunday's final race.

Yu Jing of China won the women's sprint in 37.94 and moved to the top of the standings with a 31-point lead over Jenny Wolf of Germany. Wolf was third, behind Olympic champion Lee Sang-hwa of South Korea.

Havard Bokko of Norway won the 1,500-meter title by taking the last race of the season. Kjeld Nuis and Koen Verweij of the Netherlands finished second and third, respectively.

Nuis also finished second in the standings, ahead of Shani Davis of the United States, who was sixth in the race.

Olympic champion Martina Sablikova of the Czech Republic confirmed her 3,000-meter title by winning the sixth consecutive race of the season.

Stephanie Beckert beat Germany teammate Claudia Pechstein for second place.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.