March 11, 2012

Christine Nesbitt of Canada won the 1,000 meters at the speedskating finals Sunday to take her second overall title in two days and clinch the women's Grand World Cup.

Olympic champion and world-record holder Shani Davis of the United States won the men's race in 1 minute, 09.24 seconds to clinch the overall title.

Nesbitt, who won the 1,500 World Cup title Saturday, clinched the last 1,000 race of the season in 1 minute, 15.04 seconds, with Heather Richardson of the United States second, 0.73 seconds behind.

Zhang Hong of China was third, 0.79 seconds behind Nesbitt, who leads the standings with 550 points, ahead of Richardson's 459.

Nesbitt wins the Grand World Cup and its $20,000 prize for the season's best skater after building an insurmountable lead over Martina Sablikova of the Czech Republic and Dutch skater Ireen Wust, who did not compete in Berlin because of illness.

Davis finished 0.12 seconds ahead of Dutch skater Kjeld Nuis and 0.13 seconds ahead of Mo Tae-bum of South Korea. He ends the season 20 points ahead of Stefan Groothuis of the Netherlands, who could manage only fourth in the last race of the season. Skaters earn 150 points for a win.

Former Olympic champion Claudia Pechstein of Germany won the women's 20,000-meter mass start, her first World Cup victory since a two-year ban for suspected blood doping.

Mariska Huisman of the Netherlands finished second, enough to take the overall title after three events, with Pechstein second and Austria's Anna Rokita third.

In the men's event, Alexis Contin of France clinched the overall title after finishing second in the last race of the season behind Jorrit Bergsma of the Netherlands.

Jonathan Kuck of the United States had a disappointing day, finishing 14th to leave him third overall.

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)