Calder Winners

Calder Memorial Trophy
Year Winner Runner-Up
2006 Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
2005 Not Awarded - NHL Lockout
2004 Andrew Raycroft, Boston Bruins Michael Ryder, Montreal Canadiens
2003 Barret Jackman, St. Louis Blues Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings
2002 Dany Heatley, Atlanta Thrashers Ilya Kovalchuk, Atlanta Thrashers
2001 Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose Sharks Brad Richards, Tampa Bay Lightning
2000 Scott Gomez, New Jersey Devils Brad Stuart, San Jose Sharks
1999 Chris Drury, Colorado Avalanche Marian Hossa, Ottawa Senators
1998 Sergei Samsonov, Boston Bruins Mattias Ohlund, Vancouver Canucks
1997 Bryan Berard, NY Islanders Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
1996 Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators Eric Daze, Chicago Blackhawks
1995 Peter Forsberg, Quebec Nordiques Jim Carey, Washington Capitals
1994 Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils Jason Arnott, Edmonton Oilers
1993 Temmu Selanne, Winnipeg Jets Joe Juneau, Boston Bruins
1992 Pavel Bure, Vancouver Canucks Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
1991 Ed Belfour, Chicago Blackhawks Sergei Fedorov, Detroit Red Wings
1990 Sergei Makarov, Calgary Flames Mike Modano, Minnesota North Stars
1989 Brian Leetch, New York Rangers Trevor Linden, Vancouver Canucks
1988 Joe Nieuwendyk, Calgary Flames Ray Sheppard, Buffalo Sabres
1987 Luc Robitaille, Los Angeles Ron Hextall, Philadelphia Flyers
1986 Gary Suter, Calgary Flames Wendel Clark, Toronto Maple Leafs
1985 Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins Chris Chelios, Montreal Canadiens
1984 Tom Barrasso, Buffalo Sabres Steve Yzerman, Detroit Red Wings
1983 Steve Larmer, Chicago Blackhawks Phil Housley, Buffalo Sabres
1982 Dale Hawerchuk, Winnipeg Jets Barry Pederson, Boston Bruins
1981 Peter Stastny, Quebec Nordiques Larry Murphy, Los Angeles
1980 Ray Bourque, Boston Bruins Mike Foligno, Detroit Red Wings
1979 Bobby Smith, Minnesota North Stars Ryan Walter, Washington Capitals
1978 Mike Bossy, New York Islanders Barry Beck, Colorado Rockies
1977 Willi Plett, Atlanta Flames Don Murdoch, New York Rangers
1976 Bryan Trottier, New York Islanders Glenn Resch, New York Islanders
1975 Eric Vail, Atlanta Flames Pierre Larouche, Pittsburgh Penguins
1974 Denis Potvin, New York Islanders Tom Lysiak, Atlanta Flames
1973 Steve Vickers, New York Rangers Bill Barber, Philadelphia Flyers
1972 Ken Dryden, Montreal Canadiens Rick Martin, Buffalo Sabres
1971 Gilbert Perreault, Buffalo Sabres Jude Drouin, Minnesota North Stars
1970 Tony Esposito, Chicago Blackhawks Bill Fairbairn, New York Rangers
1969 Danny Grant, Minnesota North Stars Norm Ferguson, Oakland Seals
1968 Derek Sanderson, Boston Bruins Jacques Lemaire, Montreal Canadiens
1967 Bobby Orr, Boston Bruins Ed Van Impe, Chicago Blackhawks
1966 Brit Selby, Toronto Maple Leafs Bert Marshall, Detroit Red Wings
1965 Roger Crozier, Detroit Red Wings Ron Ellis, Toronto Maple Leafs
1964 Jacques Laperriere, Montreal Canadiens John Ferguson, Montreal Canadiens
1963 Kent Douglas, Toronto Maple Leafs Doug Barkley, Detroit Red Wings
1962 Bobby Rousseau, Montreal Canadiens Cliff Pennington, Boston Bruins
1961 Dave Keon, Toronto Maple Leafs Bob Nevin, Toronto Maple Leafs
1960 Bill Hay, Chicago Blackhawks Murray Oliver, Detroit Red Wings
1959 Ralph Backstrom, Montreal Canadiens Carl Brewer, Toronto Maple Leafs
1958 Frank Mahovlich, Toronto Maple Leafs Bobby Hull, Chicago Blackhawks
1957 Larry Regan, Boston Bruins Ed Chadwick, Toronto Maple Leafs
1956 Glenn Hall, Detroit Red Wings Andy Hebenton, New York Rangers
1955 Ed Litzenberger, Chicago Blackhawks Don McKenney, Boston Bruins
1954 Camille Henry, New York Rangers Earl Reibel, Detroit Red Wings
1953 Lorne Worsley, New York Rangers Gordie Hannigan, Toronto Maple Leafs
1952 Bernie Geoffrion, Montreal Canadiens Hy Buller, New York Rangers
1951 Terry Sawchuk, Detroit Red Wings Al Rollins, Toronto Maple Leafs
1950 Jack Gelineau, Boston Bruins Phil Maloney, Boston Bruins
1949 Pentti Lund, New York Rangers Allan Stanley, New York Rangers
1948 Jim McFadden, Detroit Red Wings Pete Babando, Boston Bruins
1947 Howie Meeker, Toronto Maple Leafs Jimmy Conacher, Detroit Red Wings
1946 Edgar Laprade, New York Rangers George Gee, Chicago Blackhawks
1945 Frank McCool, Toronto Maple Leafs Ken Smith, Boston Bruins
1944 Gus Bodnar, Toronto Maple Leafs Bill Durnan, Montreal Canadiens
1943 Gaye Stewart, Toronto Maple Leafs Glen Harmon, Montreal Canadiens
1942 Grant Warwick, New York Rangers Buddy O'Connor, Montreal Canadiens
1941 Johnny Quilty, Montreal Canadiens Johnny Mowers, Detroit Red Wings
1940 Kilby MacDonald, New York Rangers Wally Stanowski, Toronto Maple Leafs
1939 Frank Brimsek, Boston Bruins Roy Conacher, Boston Bruins
1938 Cully Dahlstrom, Chicago Blackhawks Murph Chamberlain, Toronto Maple Leafs
1937 Syl Apps, Toronto Maple Leafs Gordie Drillon, Toronto Maple Leafs
1936 Mike Karakas, Chicago Blackhawks Bucko McDonald, Detroit Red Wings
1935 Dave Schriner, New York Americans Bert Connolly, New York Rangers
1934 Russ Blinko, Montreal Maroons
1933 Carl Voss, Detroit Red Wings
Awarded annually to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League. Frank Calder was a former NHL president. Sergei Makarov, who won the award in 1989-1990, was the oldest recipient of the trophy, at 31. Players are no longer eligible for the award if they are 26 or older as of Sept. 15 of the season in question.
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.