By Andy Glockner
February 28, 2011
2011 NCAA Tournament Projection
In this bracket, the East matches up with the West, the Southeast with the Southwest in the national semifinals.

This week's notable moves:

• Ohio State is the new No. 1 overall seed.

• BYU is a new 1-seed.

• Florida got squeezed and dropped from the last No. 3 seed to the first 5 because of the good work of teams just behind it.

• The Southwest features a rematch between Xavier and Butler -- something the committee attempts to avoid -- but that was the best solution to a bunch of seeding, conference and other rematch conflicts.

• Coastal Carolina was moved from a 15 to a 16 because of personnel losses.

With the addition of three at-large spots (increasing the field to 68 teams), there are now four play-in games, dubbed the "First Four." Two games will match the tournament's lowest seeds, Nos. 65 through 68, with the winners claiming a No. 16 seed. The other two games will feature the last four teams of the 37 at-large qualifiers, with the winners likely receiving No. 11 or 12 seeds.

The top-four seeds in each region, starting with the No. 1 seeds, receive geographic preference when possible. An imbalance in high seeds between regions (e.g. if more than two top-four seeds are closest to the same subregional location) may force a protected seed into a secondary location.

League winners (automatic qualifiers) are listed with their conference for clarity. Auto-bid winners in traditional one-bid leagues are determined by the best RPI from the team(s) with the fewest league losses. Teams can be moved a seed line up or down to conform to bracketing rules.

EAST - Newark, N.J.
1 Ohio State (Big Ten)
16 Florida Atlantic (Sun Belt)
8 Arizona (Pac-10)
9 Florida State
5 Florida (SEC)
12 Colorado/Gonzaga
4 Syracuse
13 Oakland (Summit)
Washington, D.C.
6 Texas A&M
11 Michigan State
3 Louisville
14 Vermont (America East)
7 George Mason (Colonial)
10 Richmond
2 Duke (ACC)
15 Fairfield (MAAC)
SOUTHEAST - New Orleans
1 Pittsburgh (Big East)
16 No. Colorado (Big Sky)/Texas So. (SWAC)
8 Tennessee
9 Utah State (WAC)
5 Missouri
12 Missouri State (Missouri Valley)
4 North Carolina
13 Princeton (Ivy)
6 West Virginia
11 Washington
3 Wisconsin
14 Bucknell (Patriot)
10 Marquette
2 Texas
15 Long Beach State (Big West)
WEST - Anaheim
1 BYU (Mountain West)
16 Beth.-Cook. (MEAC)/McNeese St. (Southland)
8 Old Dominion
9 Kansas State
Washington, D.C.
5 Kentucky
12 UAB (C-USA)
4 Connecticut
13 College of Charleston (SoCon)
6 Vanderbilt
11 Baylor/Michigan
3 Georgetown
14 Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Horizon)
7 Temple
10 Cincinnati
2 Purdue
15 Murray State (Ohio Valley)
SOUTHWEST - San Antonio
1 Kansas (Big 12)
16 Coastal Carolina (Big South)
8 Georgia
9 Illinois
5 Xavier (Atlantic 10)
12 Butler
4 St. John's
13 Belmont (Atlantic Sun)
6 Villanova
11 Saint Mary's (West Coast)
3 San Diego State
14 Kent State (MAC)
10 Virginia Tech
2 Notre Dame
15 Long Island (Northeast)

Last four out: Penn State, Alabama, Boston College, Colorado State.

New at-large teams in: Virginia Tech, Baylor, Colorado, Michigan.

At-large teams out: VCU, Boston College, Minnesota, Memphis.

Bids by conference: Big East (11); Big 12 (7); Big Ten (6); SEC (5); ACC (4); Mountain West, Pac-10 and Atlantic 10 (3); Colonial, Horizon and West Coast (2).

Seed changes: To ease bracket conflicts, both West Virginia/Missouri and Vanderbilt/Xavier swapped 5 and 6 seeds. Butler and the Baylor/Michigan play-in game swapped 11 and 12.

For more in-depth analysis, check out the Bubble Watch.

Got a bone to pick with the Bracket Watch? Send feedback to

You May Like