By Andy Glockner
March 09, 2011
2011 NCAA Tournament Projection

Notable developments: Villanova dropped from a 7-seed to a 9 after losing to South Florida and could drop even further depending on what happens the rest of the week.

Last four out: Saint Mary's, Clemson, Memphis, Penn State.

New at-large teams in: Colorado.

At-large teams out: Butler (moves to auto-bid in place of UW-Milwaukee).

Bids by conference: Big East (11); Big 12, Big Ten and SEC (6); ACC (5), Mountain West, Pac-10, Atlantic 10 and Colonial (3).


League winners (automatic qualifiers) are listed with their conference for clarity.

In this bracket, the East matches up with the West, the Southeast with the Southwest in the national semifinals.

* Team officially won its league's automatic bid.

EAST - Newark, N.J.
1 Ohio State (Big Ten)
16 Boston U. (America East)
8 Old Dominion* (Colonial)
9 Villanova
5 Xavier (Atlantic 10)
12 Virginia Tech/Alabama
4 St. John's
13 Belmont* (Atlantic Sun)
Washington, D.C.
6 Kansas State
11 Michigan
3 Syracuse
14 Kent State (MAC)
7 Arizona (Pac-10)
10 Georgia
2 North Carolina (ACC)
15 Long Island (Northeast)
SOUTHEAST - New Orleans
1 Pittsburgh (Big East)
16 McNeese St. (Southland)/Texas So. (SWAC)
9 Florida State
5 Wisconsin
12 Gonzaga* (West Coast)
4 Louisville
13 Harvard (Ivy)
6 Georgetown
11 Boston College
3 Florida (SEC)
14 Bucknell (Patriot)
10 Butler* (Horizon)
2 Texas
15 No. Colorado (Big Sky)
WEST - Anaheim
1 Notre Dame
16 Beth.-Cook. (MEAC)/UALR* (Sun Belt)
8 Missouri
9 George Mason
Washington, D.C.
5 Connecticut
12 UAB (C-USA)
4 Kentucky
13 Oakland* (Summit)
6 Tennessee
11 Richmond
3 Purdue
14 Wofford* (Southern)
7 Texas A&M
10 Marquette
2 BYU (Mountain West)
15 Long Beach State (Big West)
SOUTHWEST - San Antonio
1 Kansas (Big 12)
16 UNC Asheville* (Big South)
8 Utah State (WAC)
9 Illinois
5 Vanderbilt
12 VCU/Colorado
4 West Virginia
13 Indiana State* (Missouri Valley)
6 Cincinnati
11 Michigan State
3 San Diego State
14 Morehead State* (Ohio Valley)
7 Temple
10 Washington
2 Duke
15 Saint Peter's* (MAAC)


With the addition of three at-large spots (increasing the field to 68 teams), there are now four play-in games, dubbed the "First Four." Two games will match the tournament's lowest seeds, Nos. 65 through 68, with the winners claiming a No. 16 seed. The other two games will feature the last four teams of the 37 at-large qualifiers, with the winners likely receiving No. 11 or 12 seeds.

The top-four seeds in each region, starting with the No. 1 seeds, receive geographic preference when possible. An imbalance in high seeds between regions (e.g. if more than two top-four seeds are closest to the same subregional location) may force a protected seed into a secondary location.

Projected auto-bid winners in traditional one-bid leagues are determined by the best RPI from the team(s) with the fewest league losses. Teams can be moved a seed line up or down to conform to bracketing rules.

For more in-depth analysis, check out the Bubble Watch.

Got a bone to pick with the Bracket Watch? Send feedback to

You May Like