By Andy Glockner
February 14, 2011
2011 NCAA Tournament Projection
In this bracket, the East matches up with the West, the Southeast with the Southwest in the national semifinals.

This week's notable moves:

• Pitt takes over as the No. 1 overall seed, but still gets stuck with the top 2-seed because of conference conflicts and locational preferences.

• Illinois and UNLV both dropped from No. 7 seeds to 9 seeds.

• Syracuse dropped from a No. 3 seed to a 5 seed.

• Cincinnati dropped from a No. 10 seed to the last team in the field.

With the addition of three at-large spots (increasing the field to 68 teams), there are now four play-in games, dubbed the "First Four." Two games will match the tournaments lowest seeds, Nos. 65 through 68, with the winners claiming a No. 16 seed. The other two games will feature the last four teams of the 37 at-large qualifiers, with the winners likely receiving No. 11 or 12 seeds.

The top-four seeds in each region, starting with the No. 1 seeds, receive geographic preference when possible. An imbalance in high seeds between regions (e.g. if more than two top-four seeds are closest to the same subregional location) may force a protected seed into a secondary location.

League winners (automatic qualifiers) are listed with their conference for clarity. Auto-bid winners in traditional one-bid leagues are determined by the best RPI from the team(s) with the fewest league losses. Teams can be moved a seed line up or down to conform to bracketing rules.

EAST - Newark, N.J.
1 Pittsburgh (Big East)
16 Long Island (NEC)/Texas So. (SWAC)
8 George Mason (Colonial)
5 Syracuse
12 Virginia Tech
4 Purdue
Washington, D.C.
6 Xavier (Atlantic 10)
11 Michigan State
3 Connecticut
14 Belmont (Atlantic Sun)
10 Georgia
2 Duke (Atlantic Coast)
15 Vermont (America East)
SOUTHEAST - New Orleans
1 Ohio State (Big Ten)
16 Florida Atlantic (Sun Belt)
8 Washington
9 Florida State
5 Kentucky
12 Princeton (Ivy)
4 Villanova
13 Valparaiso (Horizon)
6 Missouri
11 Marquette
3 BYU (Mountain West)
14 Fairfield (MAAC)
7 Temple
10 Utah State (WAC)
2 Notre Dame
15 Bucknell (Patriot)
WEST - Anaheim
1 Kansas
16 Hampton (MEAC)/McNeese St. (Southland)
8 Minnesota
9 Old Dominion
Washington, D.C.
5 Vanderbilt
12 Memphis/Colorado
4 Louisville
13 Coll. of Charleston (SoCon)
6 Tennessee
11 Cincinnati/Colorado State
3 Wisconsin
14 Kent State (MAC)
7 St. John's
10 Baylor
2 San Diego State
15 Montana (Big Sky)
SOUTHWEST - San Antonio
1 Texas (Big 12)
16 Long Beach State (Big West)
8 Saint Mary's (West Coast)
9 Illinois
5 North Carolina
12 Missouri State (Missouri Valley)
4 West Virginia
13 Oakland (Summit)
6 Texas A&M
11 Richmond
3 Florida (SEC)
14 Coastal Carolina (Big South)
7 Arizona (Pac-10)
10 Boston College
2 Georgetown
15 Murray State (Ohio Valley)

Last four out: VCU, Wichita State, Butler, Alabama.

New at-large teams in: Michigan State, Memphis.

At-large teams out: VCU, Alabama (lost auto bid).

Bids by conference: Big East (11); Big 12 and Big Ten (6); SEC and ACC (5); Mountain West (4); Pac-10 and Atlantic 10 (3); Colonial and Conference USA (2).

Seed changes: Virginia Tech switched with the Cincinnati/Colorado State play-in game. Baylor switched with Marquette to help slotting. Florida State switched with George Mason.

For more in-depth analysis, check out the Bubble Watch.

Got a bone to pick with the Bracket Watch? Send feedback to

You May Like