Syracuse still a No. 1 in latest bracket; Washington joins the field

Friday March 12th, 2010
2010 NCAA Tournament Projection
In this bracket, the Midwest matches up with the West, the South with the East in the national semifinals.

Note: The top-four seeds in each region, starting with the No. 1 seeds, receive geographic preference when possible. An imbalance in high seeds between regions (e.g. if more than two top-four seeds are closest to the same subregional location) may force a protected seed into a secondary location. Thus, in the next couple weeks, shifts in seeding will alter which subregions fall into which regions.

* -- automatic qualifier

MIDWEST - Saint Louis
Oklahoma City
1 Kansas
16 East Tennessee State* (Atlantic Sun)
8 Florida State
9 Old Dominion* (Colonial)
5 Vanderbilt
12 San Diego State
4 Pittsburgh
13 Washington
6 Xavier
11 Virginia Tech
3 Georgetown
14 San Houston State (Southland)
7 Gonzaga
10 Oklahoma State
2 Purdue
15 UC Santa Barbara (Big West)
SOUTH - Houston
1 Syracuse
16 UA Pine Bluff (SWAC)/Lehigh (Patriot)
8 Northern Iowa* (Missouri Valley)
New Orleans
5 Maryland
12 Siena* (MAAC)
4 Baylor
13 Mississippi
6 Richmond
11 Cornell* (Ivy)
3 Villanova
14 Akron (MAC)
7 Missouri
10 California (Pac-10)
2 Ohio State
15 Morgan State (MEAC)
WEST - Salt Lake City
1 West Virginia
16 Winthrop* (Big South)
8 Clemson
9 Saint Mary's* (West Coast)
5 Texas A&M
12 Illinois
4 Tennessee
13 Murray State* (Ohio Valley)
San Jose
6 Michigan State
11 UTEP (Conference USA)
3 New Mexico
14 Montana* (Big Sky)
7 Texas
10 Louisville
2 Duke
15 Vermont (America East)
EAST- Syracuse
1 Kentucky
16 Robert Morris* (Northeast)
8 Notre Dame
9 Utah State (WAC)
San Jose
12 Georgia Tech
4 Temple
13 Oakland* (Summit)
New Orleans
6 Butler* (Horizon)
11 Florida
3 Wisconsin
14 Wofford* (SoCon)
Oklahoma City
7 Marquette
10 Wake Forest
2 Kansas State
15 North Texas* (Sun Belt)

New multibid conference teams in: Washington.

Multibid conference teams out: Memphis.

Also considered: Rhode Island, Seton Hall, Dayton, William & Mary, Mississippi State.

Bids by conference: Big East (8), ACC and Big 12 (7), Big Ten and SEC (5), Mountain West (4), Atlantic 10 (3), West Coast and Pac-10 (2).

One-bid league winners and select other auto-bid teams are listed with their conference for clarity. Teams can be moved a seed line up or down to conform to bracketing rules.


-- Marquette and Missouri are natural 8 seeds now that were pushed up to 7s by bracketing conflicts.

-- Wake Forest is a 9/10 seed now and got pushed to a 10 to help ease bracket conflicts.

Got a bone to pick with the Bracket Watch? Send feedback to
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.