Hart Trophy Winners

Hart Memorial Trophy
Year Winner Runner-Up
2006 Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers
2005 Not Awarded - NHL Lockout
2004 Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
2003 Peter Forsberg, Colorado Avalanche Markus Naslund, Vancouver Canucks
2002 Jose Theodore, Montreal Canadiens Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
2001 Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
2000 Chris Pronger, St. Louis Blues Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh Penguins
1999 Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh Penguins Alexei Yashin, Ottawa Senators
1998 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Sabres Jagr, Pitt./Selanne, Ana.
1997 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Sabres Paul Kariya, Anaheim Mighty Ducks
1996 Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins Mark Messier, New York Rangers
1995 Eric Lindros, Philadelphia Flyers Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh Penguins
1994 Sergei Fedorov, Detroit Red Wings Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Sabres
1993 Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins Doug Gilmour, Toronto Maple Leafs
1992 Mark Messier, New York Rangers Patrick Roy, Montreal Canadiens
1991 Brett Hull, St. Louis Blues Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles Kings
1990 Mark Messier, Edmonton Oilers Ray Bourque, Boston Bruins
1989 Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles Kings Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
1988 Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins Grant Fuhr, Edmonton Oilers
1987 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers Ray Bourque, Boston Bruins
1986 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
1985 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers Dale Hawerchuk, Winnipeg Jets
1984 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers Rod Langway, Washington Capitals
1983 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers Pete Peeters, Boston Bruins
1982 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers Bryan Trottier, New York Islanders
1981 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers Mike Liut, St. Louis Blues
1980 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers Marcel Dionne, Los Angeles Kings
1979 Bryan Trottier, New York Islanders Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens
1978 Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens Bryan Trottier, New York Islanders
1977 Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Flyers
1976 Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Flyers Denis Potvin, New York Islanders
1975 Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Flyers Rogatien Vachon, Los Angeles Kings
1974 Phil Esposito, Boston Bruins Bernie Parent, Philadelphia Flyers
1973 Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Flyers Phil Esposito, Boston Bruins
1972 Bobby Orr, Boston Bruins Ken Dryden, Montreal Canadiens
1971 Bobby Orr, Boston Bruins Phil Esposito, Boston Bruins
1970 Bobby Orr, Boston Bruins Tony Esposito, Chicago Blackhawks
1969 Phil Esposito, Boston Bruins Jean Beliveau, Montreal Canadiens
1968 Stan Mikita, Chicago Blackhawks Jean Beliveau, Montreal Canadiens
1967 Stan Mikita, Chicago Blackhawks Ed Giacomin, New York Rangers
1966 Bobby Hull, Chicago Blackhawks Jean Beliveau, Montreal Canadiens
1965 Bobby Hull, Chicago Blackhawks Norm Ullman, Detroit Red Wings
1964 Jean Beliveau, Montreal Canadiens Bobby Hull, Chicago Blackhawks
1963 Gordie Howe, Detroit Red Wings Stan Mikita, Chicago Blackhawks
1962 Jacques Plante, Montreal Canadiens Doug Harvey, New York Rangers
1961 Bernie Geoffrion, Montreal Canadiens Johnny Bower, Toronto Maple Leafs
1960 Gordie Howe, Detroit Red Wings Bobby Hull, Chicago Blackhawks
1959 Andy Bathgate, New York Rangers Gordie Howe, Detroit Red Wings
1958 Gordie Howe, Detroit Red Wings Andy Bathgate, New York Rangers
1957 Gordie Howe, Detroit Red Wings Jean Beliveau, Montreal Canadiens
1956 Jean Beliveau, Montreal Canadiens Tod Sloan, Toronto Maple Leafs
1955 Ted Kennedy, Toronto Maple Leafs Harry Lumley, Toronto Maple Leafs
1954 Al Rollins, Chicago Blackhawks Red Kelly, Detroit Red Wings
1953 Gordie Howe, Detroit Red Wings Al Rollins, Chicago Blackhawks
1952 Gordie Howe, Detroit Red Wings Elmer Lach, Montreal Canadiens
1951 Milt Schmidt, Boston Bruins Maurice Richard, Montreal Canadiens
1950 Charlie Rayner, New York Rangers Ted Kennedy, Toronto Maple Leafs
1949 Sid Abel, Detroit Red Wings Bill Durnan, Montreal Canadiens
1948 Buddy O'Connor, New York Rangers Frank Brimsek, Boston Bruins
1947 Maurice Richard, Montreal Canadiens Milt Schmidt, Boston Bruins
1946 Max Bentley, Chicago Blackhawks Gaye Stewart, Toronto Maple Leafs
1945 Elmer Lach, Montreal Canadiens Maurice Richard, Montreal Canadiens
1944 Babe Pratt, Toronto Maple Leafs Bill Cowley, Boston Bruins
1943 Bill Cowley, Boston Bruins Doug Bentley, Chicago Blackhawks
1942 Tom Anderson, Brooklyn Americans Syl Apps, Toronto Maple Leafs
1941 Bill Cowley, Boston Bruins Dit Clapper, Boston Bruins
1940 Eddie Goodfellow, Detroit Red Wings Syl Apps, Toronto Maple Leafs
1939 Toe Blake, Montreal Canadiens Syl Apps, Toronto Maple Leafs
1938 Eddie Shore, Boston Bruins Paul Thompson, Chicago Blackhawks
1937 Babe Siebert, Montreal Canadiens Lionel Conacher, Montreal Maroons
1936 Eddie Shore, Boston Bruins Hooley Smith, Montreal Maroons
1935 Eddie Shore, Boston Bruins Charlie Conacher, Toronto Maple Leafs
1934 Aurel Joliat, Montreal Canadiens Lionel Conacher, Chicago Blackhawks
1933 Eddie Shore, Boston Bruins Bill Cook, New York Rangers
1932 Howie Morenz, Montreal Canadiens Joe Primeau, Toronto Maple Leafs
1931 Howie Morenz, Montreal Canadiens Eddie Shore, Boston Bruins
1930 Nels Stewart, Montreal Maroons Lionel Hitchman, Boston Bruins
1929 Roy Worters, New York Americans Ace Bailey, Toronto Maple Leafs
1928 Howie Morenz, Montreal Canadiens Roy Worters, Pittsburgh Penguins
1927 Herb Gardiner, Montreal Canadiens Bill Cook, New York Rangers
1926 Nels Stewart, Montreal Maroons Sprague Cleghorn, Boston Bruins
1925 Billy Burch, Hamilton Tigers Howie Morenz, Montreal Canadiens
1924 Frank Nighbor, Ottawa Senators Sprague Cleghorn, Montreal Canadiens
Awarded annually to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team. The original trophy was donated by Dr. David A. Hart, father of Cecil Hart, former manager-coach of the Montreal Canadiens. Wayne Gretzky won the award nine times in the 1980s.
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.