By Andy Glockner
January 03, 2011
2011 NCAA Tournament Projection
In this bracket, the Southeast matches up with the Southwest, the East with the West in the national semifinals.

With the addition of three at-large spots (increasing the field to 68 teams), there are now four play-in games, dubbed the "First Four." Two games will match the tournaments lowest seeds, Nos. 65 through 68, with the winners claiming a No. 16 seed. The other two games will feature the last four teams of the 37 at-large qualifiers, with the winners likely receiving No. 11 or 12 seeds.

The top-four seeds in each region, starting with the No. 1 seeds, receive geographic preference when possible. An imbalance in high seeds between regions (e.g. if more than two top-four seeds are closest to the same subregional location) may force a protected seed into a secondary location.

League winners (automatic qualifiers) are listed with their conference for clarity. Teams can be moved a seed line up or down to conform to bracketing rules. Auto bids in traditional one-bid leagues were determined by best RPI of league leaders.

SOUTHEAST - New Orleans
1 Ohio State (Big Ten)
16 Quinnipiac (Northeast)
8 North Carolina
9 Memphis
5 Notre Dame
12 Utah State (WAC)
4 Texas A&M
13 Princeton (Ivy)
6 Michigan State
11 Drexel (Colonial)
3 San Diego State (Mountain West)
14 Bucknell (Patriot)
Washington D.C.
7 Tennessee
10 Florida State
2 Connecticut
15 Coastal Carolina (Big South)
EAST - Newark, N.J.
1 Duke (ACC)
16 Lipscomb (A. Sun)/Jackson State (SWAC)
8 Louisville
9 Old Dominion
5 Kansas State
12 Dayton/St. John's
4 Illinois
13 Portland (West Coast)
6 Vanderbilt
11 Cleveland State
3 Missouri
14 Vermont (America East)
10 Maryland
2 Pittsburgh
15 Hampton (MEAC)
SOUTHWEST - San Antonio
1 Kansas (Big 12)
16 Nicholls State (Southland)
8 Minnesota
9 West Virginia
5 Washington (Pac-10)
12 Miami (Fla.)/Marquette
4 Temple (Atlantic 10)
13 Oakland (Summit)
6 Florida
11 Cincinnati
3 Purdue
14 Long Beach State (Big West)
7 Butler (Horizon)
10 Baylor
2 Georgetown
15 Montana (Big Sky)
WEST - Anaheim
Washington D.C.
1 Syracuse (Big East)
16 Austin Peay (OVC)/N. Texas (Sun Belt)
8 Gonzaga
9 Central Florida (C-USA)
12 Wichita State (Missouri Valley)
4 Texas
13 Kent State (MAC)
6 Boston College
11 Richmond
3 Villanova
14 Iona (MAAC)
7 Wisconsin
10 Arizona
2 Kentucky (SEC)
15 Furman (SoCon)

Last four out: Saint Mary's, Xavier, North Carolina State, Georgia.

New at-large teams in: Dayton, Marquette, St. John's.

At-large teams out: USC, Oklahoma State, Washington State.

Seed shifts: Tennessee was a natural 8 seed moved to a 7 to help Louisville avoid conference/rematch conflict. Baylor was a natural 9 seed moved to a 10 to avoid conference conflict. West Virginia was a natural 10 moved to a 9.

Bids by conference: Big East (11); Big 12, ACC and Big Ten (6); SEC (4); Mountain West and Atlantic 10 (3); Pac-10, Conference USA, Horizon, West Coast and Colonial (2).

For more in-depth analysis, check out the Bubble Watch.

Got a bone to pick with the Bracket Watch? Send feedback to

You May Like