California Chrome one win away from history -- just maybe

Sunday May 18th, 2014
Since 1978, 11 horses have won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness, but failed to win the Belmont.
Bill Frakes/SI

Now there is another chance, a reach at history for horse and rider. And for all of them, a race to slake the sport's thirst. Just maybe.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.