Gerald Herbert/Associated Press
By SI Wire
February 11, 2015

The NBA’s Slam Dunk Contest is the last specialty event held at the NBA All-Star Weekend, which also includes a shooting stars and skills competition as well as the three-point shootout.

This year, the rules have been tweaked. The competition is returning to a two-round competition after last year's event featured a team format.

Five judges will score each dunk from 6-10. Competitors are given three chances to complete a dunk.

A made dunk can’t be replaced, and anyone using props (like Blake Griffin using a car in 2012) must get league approval. A “dunk-off” will be used if players are tied at the end of the first round.

Instant replay can be used if a rule is in question.

How to Watch

Details for the Slam Dunk Contest are below:

Date: Feb. 14

Location: Barclays Center, Brooklyn, N.Y.

TV Coverage: TNT

Start time: Coverage begins at 8 p.m. ET

Live stream: You can live stream the dunk contest here

Defending champion: John Wall, Washington Wizards


Giannis Antetokounmpo (Bucks)
Mason Plumlee (Nets)
Victor Oladipo (Magic)
Zach LaVine (Timberwolves)

                         Past champions

   Year       City                    Winner, team
1984 Denver Larry Nance, Phoenix
1985 Indianapolis Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1986 Dallas Spud Webb, Atlanta
1987 Seattle Michael Jordan, Seattle
1988 Chicago Michael Jordan, Chicago
1989 Houston Kenny Walker, New York
1990 Miami Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1991 Charlotte Dee Brown, Boston
1992 Orlando Cedric Caballos, Phoenix
1993 Salt Lake City Harold Miner, Miami
1994 Minneapolis  Isaiah Rider, Minnesota
1995 Phoenix Harold Miner, Miami
1996 San Antonio Brent Barry, L.A. Clippers
1997 Cleveland Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
1998 New York No competition
1999 Philadelphia No competition - NBA Lockout
2000 Oakland Vince Carter, Toronto
2001 Washington Desmond Mason, Seattle 
2002 Philadelphia  Jason Richardson, Golden State
2003 Atlanta  Jason Richardson, Golden State
2004 Los Angeles Fred Jones, Indiana
2005 Denver Josh Smith, Atlanta
2006 Houston Nate Robinson, New York
2007 Las Vegas Gerald Green, Boston
2008 New Orleans Dwight Howard, Orlando
2009 Phoenix Nate Robinson, New York
2010 Dallas  Nate Robinson, New York
2011 Los Angeles Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers
2012 Orlando Jeremy Evans, Utah
2013 Houston Terrence Ross, Toronto
2014 New Orleans John Wall, Washington


You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)