Santa Cruz sweeps Fort Wayne, wins first NBA D-League title

SANTA CRUZ, Calif. (AP) The Santa Cruz Warriors won their first NBA Development League championship Sunday, beating the Fort Wayne Mad Ants 109-96 to complete a two-game sweep.

After losing in the finals in each of the last two years, the Warriors finally broke through against the team that beat them for the 2014 title.

Elliott Williams scored 17 of his 23 points in the first half and was chosen NBA D-League Finals MVP. Darington Hobson added 22 points and 11 rebounds, and James Michael McAdoo, on assignment from the Golden State Warriors, came off the bench to score 21 points.

Fort Wayne had won 10 straight postseason games coming into the finals.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.