Grizzlies' Tony Allen, Heat's LeBron James lead 2013 All-Defensive teams

Monday May 13th, 2013

Tony Allen (right) and LeBron James were the 2013 All-Defensive First Team's leading vote-getters. (Victor Baldizon/Getty Images)Tony Allen (right) and LeBron James were this year's All-Defensive leading vote-getters. (Victor Baldizon/Getty Images)

The NBA announced the 2013 All-Defensive teams on Monday, and a number of familiar faces were included.

The First Team was headlined by Grizzlies guard Tony Allen, who finished as the leading vote-getter, and Heat forward LeBron James, the 2013 MVP and runner-up for the 2013 Defensive Player of the Year. Clippers guard Chris Paul, Thunder forward Serge Ibaka, Knicks center Tyson Chandler and Bulls center Joakim Noah filled out the First Team. Chandler and Noah finished tied for the center spot.

James, Ibaka, Paul and Allen were all 2012 All-Defensive First Team selections, while Chandler, the 2012 Defensive Player of the Year, was a Second Team selection. This is the fifth All-Defensive First Team selection of James' career, the third for Paul and the second for both Ibaka and Allen.

The 2013 Second Team included Grizzlies guard Mike Conley, Celtics guard Avery Bradley, Pacers forward Paul George, Spurs forward Tim Duncan and Grizzlies center Marc Gasol, who won 2013 Defensive Player of the Year back in April. This was the first time Conley, Bradley, George and Gasol have earned All-Defensive recognition. 2013 marked the 14th time Duncan has been selected to the All-Defensive First or Second Team.

The Defensive Player of the Year award is voted by the media; the All-Defensive Teams are voted on by the NBA's coaches. Coaches cannot vote for players on their own team. Full voting results are below.

Of note: Lakers center Dwight Howard, who was a 2012 First Team selection, received just nine total points and three First Team votes in 2013. Lakers guard Kobe Bryant, a 2012 Second Team selection, finished with six total points and one First Team vote in 2013. Bulls forward Luol Deng, Celtics guard Rajon Rondo and Celtics guard Kevin Garnett also fell off the 2012 Second Team in 2013.


Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in parentheses) Andre Iguodala Larry Sanders Thabo Sefolosha Roy Hibbert Kenneth Faried Russell Westbrook Shane Battier Nicolas Batum Corey Brewer George Hill Mike James Kawhi Leonard Tony Parker Dwyane Wade Metta World Peace Eric Bledsoe Kevin Durant Jrue Holiday Andrei Kirilenko Iman Shumpert David West
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.