By Ben Golliver
May 14, 2013

Damian Lillard, left, and Anthony Davis headline the 2013 All-Rookie First Team. (Andrew D. Bernstein/Getty Images)Damian Lillard (left) and Anthony Davis led the All-Rookie voting. (Andrew D. Bernstein/ Getty Images)

The NBA announced the coaches' selections for the 2013 All-Rookie First and Second Teams on Tuesday, and the results closely mirrored the media's 2013 Rookie of the Year voting.

Blazers guard Damian Lillard, the unanimous Rookie of the Year, was the sole unanimous selection to the All-Rookie First Team. He was joined on the first team by Hornets forward Anthony Davis, Wizards guard Bradley Beal, Cavaliers guard Dion Waiters and Warriors forward Harrison Barnes.

The Second Team included Pistons center Andre Drummond, Raptors center Jonas Valanciunas, Bobcats forward Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Pistons forward Kyle Singler and Cavaliers center Tyler Zeller.

Davis finished second in the Rookie of the Year voting, Beal finished third, Waiters finished fifth and Barnes finished sixth. That leaves Drummond, who finished fourth in the Rookie of the Year voting, as the leading First Team "snub" candidate.

Of the 10 players selected to the All-Rookie Teams, seven were 2012 lottery picks, one was a 2012 non-lottery first-round pick (Zeller), one was a 2011 lottery pick (Valanciunas) and one was a 2011 second-round pick (Singler). Both Valanciunas and Singler spent the 2011-12 season playing abroad.

The highest pick from the 2012 NBA draft class not to receive All-Rookie recognition was Rockets forward Thomas Robinson, drafted No. 5 overall by the Kings. Robinson was not even included among the 23 total players who received at least one vote. Five other 2012 lottery picks -- Austin Rivers (Hornets), Meyers Leonard (Blazers), Jeremy Lamb (Thunder), Kendall Marshall (Suns) and John Henson (Bucks) -- also did not receive a single vote.

All 10 rookies who received at least one vote for Rookie of the Year received at least one All-Rookie vote, too.

RELATED: The Point Forward's Rookie Grades

Here are the All-Rookie voting process details and the full results.

The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select five players for the first team and five players for the second team, regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. Two points were awarded for first team votes and one for second team votes.


Other players receiving votes, with point totals (first place votes in parentheses):

Maurice Harkless Alexey Shved Chris Copeland Brian Roberts Andrew Nicholson Jae Crowder Festus Ezeli Draymond Green John Jenkins Terrence Jones Pablo Prigioni Terrence Ross

You May Like