J.J. Watt, DeMarco Murray win NFL player of the year awards

Sunday February 1st, 2015

Dallas Cowboys running back DeMarco Murray and Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt won the 2014 AP NFL Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year awards, respectively, on Saturday night.

The awards were announced at the "NFL Honors" show in Phoenix, one day before Super Bowl XLIX between the New England Patriots and Seattle Seahawks.

List of 2015 NFL awards announced Saturday

Murray won the offensive player of the year award after leading the NFL with 1,845 rushing yards, nearly 500 more than any other player. The fourth-year pro also caught 57 passes for 416 yards, both career-highs.

The Cowboys finished 12-4 before losing to the Green Bay Packers in the NFC divisional playoffs.

Watt won the defensive player of the year award after becoming the first player in NFL history to record multiple 20-sack seasons. The fourth-year player posted 20.5 sacks in both 2014 and 2012. He also won the AP Defensive Player of the Year award in 2012.

Packers QB Aaron Rodgers named NFL Most Valuable Player

Watt also added 78 tackles, four forced fumbles, five fumble recoveries, one interception and one defensive touchdown. Watt also saw some time on offense, catching three passes -- all touchdowns.

The Texans finished 9-7 but missed the playoffs.

Mike Fiammetta

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.