Tom Brady breaks Joe Montana's record for touchdowns in Super Bowl

0:33 | NFL
Tom Brady breaks Joe Montana's Super Bowl TD record
Monday February 2nd, 2015

New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady broke Hall of Fame quarterback Joe Montana's record of 11 touchdowns in the Super Bowl when he connected with Danny Amendola for a four-yard touchdown in the fourth quarter.

Sunday marked Brady's sixth Super Bowl appearance. He led New England to Super Bowl championships in 2001, 2003 and 2004, and the Patriots lost in 2007 and 2011.

Brady threw for one score in 2001 against the Rams, three in '03 against the Panthers, two in '04 against the Eagles, one in '07 against the Giants and two in '11 against the Giants.

Montana led the San Francisco 49ers to four Super Bowl championships in the 1980s and never lost a Super Bowl.

• Seahawks' Jeremy Lane (arm) doubtful to return to Super Bowl

In the second quarter of Sunday's matchup against the Seahawks, Brady threw two touchdowns, to Brandon LaFell for 11 yards and Rob Gronkowski for 22 yards.


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.