Complete list of Super Bowl MVPs

Tuesday February 2nd, 2016

On Sunday, the Denver Broncos and Carolina Panthers will face off in Super Bowl 50 at Levi’s Stadium.

Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning, the MVP of Super Bowl XLI while he was with the Indianapolis Colts, will attempt to win his second title and MVP honor against the Panthers. He is the only player on either roster to have previously won the distinction.

Manning, now 39, completed 25 of 38 passes for 247 yards and a touchdown in his former team’s Super Bowl victory over the Chicago Bears in 2007.

On the cusp of crowning the NFL’s newest champion, here’s a look back at every Super Bowl MVP winner in league history.

• Sports Illustrated’s greatest photos in Super Bowl history

Year Winner Team Position
1967 Bart Starr Green Bay Packers QB
1968 Bart Starr Green Bay Packers QB
1969 Joe Namath New York Jets QB
1970 Len Dawson Kansas City Chiefs QB
1971 Chuck Howley Dallas Cowboys LB
1972 Roger Staubach Dallas Cowboys QB
1973 Jake Scott Miami Dolphins S
1974 Larry Csonka Miami Dolphins RB
1975 Franco Harris Pittsburgh Steelers RB
1976 Lynn Swann Pittsburgh Steelers WR
1977 Fred Biletnikoff Oakland Raiders WR
1978 Harvery Martin/Randy White Dallas Cowboys DE/DT
1979 Terry Bradshaw Pittsburgh Steelers QB
1980 Terry Bradshaw Pittsburgh Steelers QB
1981 Jim Plunkett Oakland Raiders QB
1982 Joe Montana San Francisco 49ers QB
1983 John Riggins Washington Redskins RB
1984 Marcus Allen Los Angeles Raiders RB
1985 Joe Montana San Francisco 49ers QB
1986 Richard Dent Chicago Bears DE
1987 Phil Simms New York Giants QB
1988 Doug Williams Washington Redskins QB
1989 Jerry Rice San Francisco 49ers WR
1990 Joe Montana San Francisco 49ers QB
1991 Ottis Anderson New York Giants RB
1992 Mark Rypien Washington Redskins QB
1993 Troy Aikman Dallas Cowboys QB
1994 Emmitt Smith Dallas Cowboys RB
1995 Steve Young San Francisco 49ers QB
1996 Larry Brown Dallas Cowboys CB
1997 Desmond Howard Green Bay Packers Kick returner
1998 Terrell Davis Denver Broncos RB
1999 John Elway Denver Broncos QB
2000 Kurt Warner St. Louis Rams QB
2001 Ray Lewis Baltimore Ravens LB
2002 Tom Brady New England Patriots QB
2003 Dexter Jackson Tampa Bay Buccaneers S
2004 Tom Brady New England Patriots QB
2005 Deion Branch New England Patriots WR
2006 Hines Ward Pittsburgh Steelers WR
2007 Peyton Manning Indianapolis Colts QB
2008 Eli Manning New York Giants QB
2009 Santonio Holmes Pittsburgh Steelers WR
2010 Drew Brees New Orleans Saints QB
2011 Aaron Rodgers Green Bay Packers QB
2012 Eli Manning New York Giants QB
2013 Joe Flacco Baltimore Ravens QB
2014 Malcolm Smith Seattle Seahawks LB
2015 Tom Brady New England Patriots QB
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.