Trindon Holliday punt return touchdown ends with possible fumble

Sunday November 11th, 2012

Did Trindon Holliday fumble before crossing the line? You make the call. (Reuters)

Trindon Holliday gave the Broncos a 14-7 lead in Carolina Sunday with a 76-yard punt return TD -- his second special-teams TD in as many games. Did he get away with a DeSean Jackson-esque mistake at the goal line this time, though?

Jackson, you may recall, made a similar mistake in a game against Dallas during his rookie season. He caught a long pass from Donovan McNabb behind Dallas' defense but flipped the ball out of his hand just prior to crossing the goal line. That play was reviewed and overturned -- Philadelphia was awarded the ball at the 1, but the touchdown was taken off the board.

Holliday appeared to toss the football in celebration just a split-second before crossing the goal line, which would have resulted in a fumble.

You can check out video of the play here on, but take a glance at the shots below and see what you think:

Holliday's TD stood, despite the NFL's new rule requiring every scoring play to be reviewed.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.