DeMarcus Walker hopes to both continue and overcome the history of edge pass rushers from Florida State.

Walker enjoyed a spectacular senior season in 2016, earning ACC Defensive Player of the Year plus consensus All-America honors. He collected 21 ½ tackles-for-loss and 16 sacks to rank among the NCAA leaders -- productivity that projects Walker as a high pick in the 2017 NFL draft.

Walker is the fifth Seminole edge rusher to win ACC Defensive Player of the Year honors, joining Derrick Alexander (1994), Peter Boulware (1996), Andre Wadsworth (1997) and Bjoern Werner (2012). He’s also the fifth consensus All-America, joining Reinard Wilson (1995), Boulware, Wadsworth and Woerner.

The NFL has acknowledged that college productivity by spending eight first-round picks on Florida State edge rushers and seven more second rounders. Wadsworth was the third overall pick of his draft, Boulware the fourth of his and Jamal Reynolds the 10th overall choice of his draft.

But of those 15 first- and second-round edge rushers drafted out of Florida State, only one went on to become a Pro Bowl performer – Boulware. He was voted to four Pro Bowls with the Ravens, retiring after eight seasons with 70 career sacks and a Super Bowl ring.

Only one other Florida State edge rusher managed as many as 50 career sacks in the NFL – Kamerion Wimbley with 53 ½. Eight of those edge rushers failed to hit double figures in career NFL sacks.

Here is the all-time Florida State NFL team:


*-QB – Jameis Winston, Pro Bowl

RB – Warrick Dunn, 3 Pro Bowls

RB – Devonta Freeman, 2 Pro Bowls

WR – Fred Biletnikoff, Hall of Fame

WR – Anquan Boldin, 3 Pro Bowls

TE – Lonnie Johnson, 163 career receptions

OT – Walter Jones, Hall of Fame

OT – Tra Thomas, 3 Pro Bowls

G – Montrae Holland, Played 11 seasons

G – Del Williams, Played 7 seasons

C – Rodney Hudson, Pro Bowl


DE – Peter Boulware, 4 Pro Bowls

DE – Greg Spires, 40 career sacks

DT – Darnell Dockett, 3 Pro Bowls

DT – Corey Simon, Pro Bowl

OLB – Derrick Brooks, Hall of Fame

MLB – Marvin Jones, Butkus, Lombardi Awards

OLB – Kamerion Wimbley, 53 ½ career sacks

CB – Deion Sanders, Hall of Fame

CB – J.T. Thomas, 4-time Super Bowl champion

S – LeRoy Butler, 4 Pro Bowls

S – Dexter Jackson, Super Bowl MVP


K – Sebastian Janikowski, Oakland’s all-time leading scorer

P – Rohn Stark, 4 Pro Bowls

ST ace – Dekoda Watson, Covered kicks for 7 seasons

*--First overall pick of 2015 NFL draft