Tom's still Terrific: Brady one of eight unanimous picks to all-decade team

Photo courtesy of USA Today

Clark Judge

Quarterback Tom Brady is one of eight unanimous choices on the 2010-19 all-decade team released Monday, and no surprise there. It’s the second time Brady has been an all-decade pick.

He was part of the 2000-2009 all-decade team, too.

But then so were four others named to the latest all-decade club, and the envelope, please: Coach Bill Belichick, kick returner Devin Hester, punter Shane Lechler and defensive end Julius Peppers also made the team each of the past two decades.

All but Brady and Belichick are retired.

The 55-member team was chosen by the 48 members of the Pro Football Hall-of-Fame’s board of selectors. Only players who received at least one selection to a Pro Bowl, Associated Press All-Pro team or Pro Football Writers of America all-conference team during the 2010-19 seasons were eligible.

Curiously, the Hall did not announce choices as members of a first-or-second team.

One of two quarterbacks (Aaron Rodgers is the other), Brady was a slam-dunk. All he did the last 10 years was win 10 division titles, go to five Super Bowls, win three Lombardi Trophies, be named Super Bowl MVP twice and get chosen to the Pro Bowl every season but 2019.

But he wasn't alone in his encore performance. Joining him as a unanimous selection were seven others: Defensive tackle Aaron Donald, linebacker Von Miller, running back Adrian Peterson, offensive tackle Joe Thomas, kicker Justin Tucker, defensive end J.J. Watt and guard Marshal Yanda.

Thomas and Yanda are retired.

All can take a bow, and they're not alone. So can the following:

-- Belichick. He’s one of only two coaches to appear on multiple all-decade teams. Pittsburgh’s Chuck Noll is the other (1970s and ‘80s).

-- The NFC West. It’s the most heavily represented division, with eight players who spent most of the decade within it.

-- Darren Sproles. Chosen as an offensive flex player and punt returner, he’s the fourth-ever player to appear on all-decade teams at multiple positions. The others are Mel Gray (kick and punt returner in the 1990s), Dante Hall (kick and punt returner in the 2000s) and Deion Sanders (cornerback and punt returner in the 1990s).

-- Dallas and Cleveland. They were the only teams to place multiple offensive linemen on the team. The Cowboys have Zack Martin and Tyron Smith, while Cleveland was led by Thomas and center Alex Mack.



WR -- Antonio Brown, Larry Fitzgerald, Calvin Johnson, Julio Jones.

TE – Rob Gronkowski, Travis Kelce.

OT – Jason Peters, Tyron Smith, Joe Staley, *Joe Thomas.

OG – Jahri Evans, Logan Mankins, Zack Martin, *Marshal Yanda.

C – Alex Mack, Maurkice Pouncey.

QB – *Tom Brady, Aaron Rodgers.

RB – Frank Gore, Marshawn Lynch, LeSean McCoy, *Adrian Peterson.

Flex – Darren Sproles.


DE – Calais Campbell, Cameron Jordan, Julius Peppers, *J.J. Watt,

DT – Geno Atkins, Fletcher Cox, *Aaron Donald, Ndamukong Suh.

LB – Chandler Jones, Luke Kuechly, Khalil Mack, *Von Miller, Bobby Wagner, Patrick Willis.

CB – Patrick Peterson, Darrelle Revis, Richard Sherman.

S – Eric Berry, Earl Thomas, Eric Weddle.

DB – Chris Harris, Tyrann Mathieu.


P – Johnny Hekker, Shane Lechler.

K – Stephen Gostkowski, *Justin Tucker.

Punt Returner – Tyreek Hill, Darren Sproles.

Kick Returner – Devin Hester, Cordarelle Patterson.


Bill Belichick, Pete Carroll.

*Unanimous selection.

Comments (10)
No. 1-6

interesting that there are no 1st or 2nd teams identified

Clark Judge
Clark Judge


Yeah, not sure what that's about. The Hall lists first and second teamers on its website. A few surprises. I'm a big Kam Chancellor fan. Surprised he didn't make it.

brian wolf
brian wolf

I agree about Chancellor Clark but its obvious winning the SB vaulted Kelce over a blocking/catching TE like Witten and Gates, who though playing longer than Kelce also had 20 more TDs ...

I think Gerald McCoy was as good at DT Fletcher Cox with one more Pro Bowl but the SB win helped Cox ...

Wheres Lovante David ? His decade was as good as Patrick Willis and both Mack and Jones were strictly pash rushers, while David is a tackling machine ...

I love Larry Fitzgerald, but his decade wasnt as good as AJ Greens and barely better than DeAndre Hopkins, while Edelman has the SBs and postseason numbers ...

Aaron Rodgers over Russell Wilson is real close as well ... since he has more MVPs and a lesser defence, he gets the nod but Wilson has great rushing numbers and a 2-0 NFC Champ record over Rodgers 1-3 record ...

Damon Harrison might have been as good as Suh, but a nose tackle


So here is what I mean, this is link from the Hall website to listings of all the all decade teams (no first or second team identified) BUT if you click for expanded summaries of the 2000s and earlier teams, there is a short bio for each player that includes tagging them as 1st or 2nd team. So at least it appears from the first link they are “hiding” previous all decade team 1st and 2nd teams, why I have no idea??


BTW, I've always wondered why the freak did Noll get 80s All Decade coach? The Steelers had an even worse decade than Dallas did. Landry made 3 NFC championship games to the Steeler's 1 and won more games overall.

It's not like it was a makeup pick because Noll rightly got 70s All Decade too as you point out. The 70s coaches should have been Noll and Landry. Landry made 5 Super Bowls, beating the crap out of Shula head to head in their meeting, and won more games than anyone, including Noll. All due respect to Shula, he never dominated a decade. Plus, while Shula was a great coach, Landry was a genius whose innovations in every phase of the game and off the field changed the sport forever in numerous ways.

The 80s picks should have been Walsh and Gibbs. Maybe Reeves as a long shot.

brian wolf
brian wolf

Not to beat a dead horse but I have to point out once again the need for the HOF Committees and Voters to reevaluate all these All Decades Teams and follow Pro Football Journals lead and create official Mid Decade Teams ...

Stating My Case In Point : Patrick Willis ...

If there was an official 2005-2015 team, Willis would fit in perfectly but instead he was voted on this team despite only FOUR years of outstanding play from 2010-2013.
He was injured and hardly played his final season in 2014, yet he is All Decade ?

Yes, I know he has three All Pro and four Pro Bowl nominations, which obviously helped his cause but we are talking 2010 - 2019, not 2013 ...

NFL Stories