Which QB is most deserving of the College Hall of Fame?

Rick Gosselin

The College Hall of Fame has released its preliminary ballot for its Class of 2019 this week and there are nine FBS quarterbacks listed. There is one key stipulation to qualify for the college hall – a player must have been a first-team All-America.

That knocks Tom Brady and Joe Montana out of the running.

But Troy Aikman, Sammy Baugh, Kerry Collins, John Elway, Doug Flutie, Bob Griese, Bert Jones, Roger Staubach, Fran Tarkenton and Joe Theismann all have been enshrined. Which of the nine quarterbacks is most worthy of joining their company in the Class of 2019? That’s the subject of our weekly Talk of Fame Network poll. Here are your options:

Michael Bishop, Kansas State. All-America: 1998. The Davey O’Brien Award winner and Heisman Trophy runnerup. Set 34 school and 14 Big 12 records. Bishop passed for 2,844 yards and 23 touchdowns and rushed for 748 yards and 14 more scores in 1998.

Matt Cavanaugh, Pitt. All-America: 1976. Led Pitt to a national championship in 1976. Also led the Panthers to three consecutive bowl wins and was the game MVP of both the 1977 Sugar and 1977 Gator Bowls. He finished second all-time in school history in total yards (3,916) to Tony Dorsett.

Tim Couch, Kentucky. All-America: 1998. The 1998 SEC Player of the Year after leading Kentucky to its first victory over Alabama in 75 years. Set 26 school, 14 SEC and seven NCAA passing records. Finished ninth in the Heisman voting in 1997 and fourth in 1998.

Eric Crouch, Nebraska. All-America: 2001. Heisman Trophy, Davey O’Brien and Walter Cap award winner after leading Nebraska to the national championship. Posted a 42-9 career starting record and took the Cornhuskers to four consecutive bowl games. Set NCAA record for career rushing TDs by a quarterback with 59.

Cade McNown, UCLA. All-America: 1998. The Pac-10 co-Offensive Player of the Year in 1998 and also the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner. McNown led UCLA to back-to-back Pac 10 titles in 1997-98.

Carson Palmer, Southern Cal. All-America: 2002. Heisman Trophy winner who led Southern Cal to an 11-2 record and its first 11-win season since 1979. He left the Trojans as the Pac 10’s all-time leader in total yards (11,621) and passing yards (11,818).

Jake Plummer, Arizona State. All-America: 1996. A four-year starter and two-time school MVP. Pac 10 Player of the Year in 1996 when he led the Sun Devils to an undefeated regular season and their first Rose Bowl berth in 10 years. Passed for 8,827 career yards.

Antwaan Randle-El, Indiana. All-America: 2001. First player in NCAA history to pass for 6,000 yards and rush for 3,000 yards in a career. He left Indiana as the NCAA’s all-time leader among quarterbacks in rushing yards.

Vince Young, Texas. All-America: 2005. Won the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien awards and was the Heisman Trophy runnerup after leading the Longhorns to a national title. He became the first player in NCAA FBS history in 2005 to pass for 3,000 yards and rush for 1,000 yards in a single season.

Vote now!

[socialpoll id="2506267"]


NFL Stories