Skip to main content

DeMeco Ryans Wins Texans 2011 Ed Block Courage Award

DeMeco Ryans

DeMeco Ryans

Houston Texans linebacker DeMeco Ryans was elected as the recipient for the Texans 2011 Ed Block Courage Award. The award honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The award is unique in that the recipients are selected solely by a vote of their teammates. Every fall all thirty two teams conduct a vote which results in each team selecting their Ed Block Courage Award recipient for the year.

The Ed Block Courage Award recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength, dedication, and a community role model. This honor, Ryans enters into an association which contrasts his fierce profession by becoming a major component of the Courage House National Support Network for Kids. Also Ryans, becomes an Ambassador of Courage for victims of abuse, violence and neglect.

The Ed Block Courage Award recipient will be identified as a team player in helping abused children and families in crisis. This award has become one of the most esteemed honors bestowed upon a player in the NFL, especially since the recipient is selected by his peers.

Past Houston Texans Ed Block Award Winners

2002- Jason Bell (CB)

2003- Aaron Glenn (CB)

Recommended Articles

Texans OC Tim Kelly on The Addition of Laremy Tunsil and What Makes Him So Good as a Left Tackle

Sources: Ex-Texans Coach Tim Kelley Interviews with Panthers

Kelly and head coach David Culley were fired after a 4-13 season.


Coach Pep Hamilton Turns Down Invite; Will Houston Texans Promote Him?

Sources: Texans' Pep Hamilton not expected to interview with Panthers

Nick Caserio

Texans' GM Nick Caserio Reveals Stance on Deshaun Watson: 'Open-minded'

Caserio isn't expecting a the former Pro Bowl quarterback to suddenly change his decision this offseason

2004- Seth Payne (DL)

2005- Jabar Gaffney (WR)

2006- Kailee Wong (LB)

2007- Anthony Weaver (DE)

2008- Harry Williams (WR)

2009- Zac Diles (LB)

2010- Joel Dreessen (TE)