Skip to main content
Publish date:

Texans Legend Andre Johnson Advances in Bid for Hall of Fame

Andre Johnson is the only member of the Houston Texans' Ring of Honor

HOUSTON -- Retired Houston Texans Pro Bowl wide receiver Andre Johnson is among 26 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2022, along with former Texans and New England Patriots Pro Bowl nose tackle Vince Wilfork.

The Hall of Fame names its 15 finalists in December before final balloting for the inductees is announced prior to Super Bowl LVI.

Johnson, 40, is joined by former Oilers and Titans running back Eddie George, as a first-time semifinalist, along with Anquan Boldin, Steve Smith, DeMarcus Ware and Devin Hester.

The other semifinalists include Sam Mills, Richard Seymour, Zach Thomas, Fred Taylor, Ricky Watters, Reggie Wayne, Torry Holt, Hines Ward, Tony Boselli, Willie Anderson, Eric Allen, Ronde Barber, LeRoy Butler, Darren Woodson, Patrick Willis, Jared Allen, Bryce Young and Steve Tasker.

Recommended Articles

Zach Cunningham

Texans Make 3 Roster Moves, Cunningham Officially Cut

Houston Texans Tracker for 2021: Check back often as we keep you up-to-date on Texans NFL news as Houston works on its roster-building


Texans Coach Culley Reacts To GM's Non-Commitment Remarks

David Culley is not looking too much into Nick Caserio's comments about his impending status

Davis Mills, Rex Burkhead

Does Houston Go With Tyrod Taylor Or David Mills At QB?

Texans coach David Culley has decision to make on starting quarterback

Johnson was named to seven Pro Bowls and is the only player in the Texans' Ring of Honor. He leads the franchise in every major receiving category, and finished his career with 1,012 receptions, 14,185 yards and 70 touchdowns.

The former first-round draft pick from Miami, selected by the Texans third overall in 2003, ranks 11th all-time in the NFL in receiving yards and catches.

He was named All-Pro five times.

The class of first-year eligible players is considered a strong one as it is including Johnson and former Dallas Cowboys and Denver Broncos standout DeMarcus Ware.

The class of 2022, which can include up to five modern-era players, will be formally announced on Feb. 10 during NFL Honors.