Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl had his power play goal against the Blues overturned on review, so he scored another one.
In a Wednesday night full of second chances, Edmonton Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl picked up his 18th goal of the season, just moments after he thought he already had it.
Initially, Draisaitl picked up a rebound in the slot and buried it behind St. Louis Blues goalie Jake Allen for a power play goal at 14:28 of the second period, only to have the play overturned due to offsides on a coach’s challenge.
As per the NHL’s Situation Room Blog:
“After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Linesman determined that Edmonton's Taylor Hall was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Linesman, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed."
Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Edmonton Oilers.
The game clock is re-set to show 5:52 (14:08 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred.”
Instead of getting mad, however, Draisaitl got even. Just over a minute later, he redirected Connor McDavid’s pass through Allen’s legs to once again stake his claim and the Oilers to a 4-2 lead.
While the coach’s challenge has been a topic of discussion for NHL general managers this week, they’ve decided to leave it as is for now, though Draisaitl certainly made it easier by taking things into his own hands.