Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid speaks to reporters during the Edmonton Oilers' end-of-the-year press conference in Edmonton, Alberta, Sunday, April 10, 2016. (Codie McLachlan/The Canadian Press via AP)
AP Photo
May 02, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) Edmonton forward Connor McDavid, Philadelphia defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere and Chicago forward Artemi Panarin are the finalists for the Calder Trophy for the NHL's top rookie.

The finalists based on balloting by the Professional Hockey Writers Association were announced on Monday night. The award will be handed out on June 22 in Las Vegas.

The 19-year-old McDavid had 16 goals and 32 assists despite missing much of the season due to a broken collarbone, living up to his hype as the No. 1 overall pick in last year's draft.

Gostisbehere led rookie defensemen with 17 goals and 29 assists in 64 games. The third-round pick from the 2012 draft scored four overtime goals, matching a single-season record for a defenseman.

Panarin, 24, led all rookies with 30 goals and 47 assists in 80 games.

You May Like