Fog again delays Olympic men's biathlon

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia (AP) The men's 15-kilometer mass-start biathlon at the Olympics has been delayed for at least another 5 1/2 hours because of fog.

The International Biathlon Union said Monday the event is now scheduled to start at 3:30 p.m. (6:30 a.m. EST, 1130 GMT) if conditions improve.

The race initially was postponed Sunday because fog at the Laura Cross-Country Ski and Biathlon Center made for poor visibility on the shooting range. It was then reset for Monday at 10 a.m. (1 a.m. EST, 0600 GMT).

Martin Fourcade of France will be going for his third gold medal of the Sochi Olympics, while Ole Einar Bjoerndalen of Norway could win a record 13th Winter Olympic medal.

The women's 12.5K mass start is to start at 7 p.m. (10 a.m. EST, 1500 GMT).

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.