SOCHI SCENE: Explaining the net rule

SOCHI, Russia (AP) It appeared Russia took a 3-2 lead on the United States in Saturday's preliminary men's hockey game when Fedor Tyutin's slapshot from the point beat Team USA goalie Jonathan Quick.

But after a video review, the goal was waved off.

Why?

Because Quick immediately argued with the officials to review it because the net had come off its moorings before the puck went in.

But the International Ice Hockey Federation rulebook states that the goal should be disallowed ''if the net has been displaced from its normal position, or the frame of the goal net is not completely flat on the ice.''

- By Jon Krawczynski - Twitter http://twitter.com/APKrawczynski

---

Associated Press reporters are filing dispatches about happenings in and around Sochi during the 2014 Winter Games. Follow AP journalists covering the Olympics on Twitter: http://apne.ws/1c3WMiu

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.