Denis Doyle/Getty Images
By SI Wire
July 17, 2014

UEFA on Thursday released a list of 10 candidates for its 2013-14 Best Player in Europe Award.

• Diego Costa (Spain, Club Atlético de Madrid – now at Chelsea FC)
• Ángel Di María (Argentina, Real Madrid CF)
• James Rodríguez (Colombia, AS Monaco FC)
• Philipp Lahm (Germany, FC Bayern München)
• Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)
• Thomas Müller (Germany, FC Bayern München)
• Manuel Neuer (Germany, FC Bayern München)
• Arjen Robben (Netherlands, FC Bayern München)
• Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid CF)
• Luis Suárez (Uruguay, Liverpool FC – now at FC Barcelona)

The initial list comprised 35 players, which were voted on by a panel of journalists from UEFA's member associations.

Three finalists will be named on Aug. 14, and the winner will be announced on Aug. 28 during the 2014-15 Champions League group stage draw.

MORE PLANET FUTBOL: Brazil's problems no quick fix | World Cup Best XI

- Chris Johnson

You May Like