CONCACAF Women's Championship sites revealed

Thursday July 24th, 2014

The 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship will feature games played in Chicago, Philadelphia, Kansas City and Washington D.C. The tournament will qualify three teams for the 2015 Women's World Cup. 

The tournament, which will take place in October, will feature eight teams divided into two groups of four. Teams will play each other team in their group round-robin style, and the top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals.

The U.S., Mexico, Costa Rica and Guatemala will play in the tournament, plus the four semi-finalists from the final round of the CFU Women's Caribbean Cup. Canada is hosting the 2015 World Cup, and receives an automatic berth. 

More: Wenger on Zelalem and all things Arsenal

Kansas City, Chicago and Washington D.C. will each host first-round games and PPL Park in suburban Philadelphia will host the semifinal games, third-place game and championship. The two finalists and the winner of the third-place game will receive berths to the World Cup, and the fourth place team will enter a playoff with a South American country for the final spot. 

- Alex Hampl

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.