Neuer, Robben, Ronaldo up for UEFA's Best Player in Europe Award

Thursday August 14th, 2014

Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, Bayern Munich winger Arjen Robben and Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo have been nominated for UEFA's Best Player in Europe Award for the 2013-14 season, FIFA announced Thursday.

The winner of the award will be announced on Aug. 28 in Monaco, where the draw for the group stage of the UEFA Champions League is being held. The award is given to the best player who plays for a European club. 

More: Luis Suarez's four-month suspension for bite upheld

Last year, Bayern Munich's Franck Ribery won the award. On Wednesday, Ribery retired from international play.

The winner will be decided by a jury made up of journalists from the 54 member associations of UEFA.

Ronaldo's Real Madrid won the Champions League and Copa del Rey during the 2013-14 season. Bayern Munich, which fell to Real Madrid in the Champions League semifinal, won the Bundesliga title as well as the DFB-Pokal. 

More: Yedlin seals Tottenham transfer

- Sarah Barshop

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.