France, South Korea bid to host 2019 Women's World Cup

Thursday October 30th, 2014

Two countries in addition to South Africa have officially filed bids to host the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup, according to Sports Illustrated's own Grant Wahl. France and South Korea have thrown their hats in the ring to be considered to host the quadrennial tournament. 

England and New Zealand were considered additional host candidates before they withdrew their bids earlier this year amid cost and infrastructure concerns. The deadline for FIFA to receive bidding documents for the 2019 World Cup is Friday. 

France and South Korea also entered a bid to host the 2018 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup. FIFA generally prefers the same member association to host the U-20 World Cup and the Women's World Cup a year later, though FIFA does hold the right to award the tournaments separately.

Canada will host the upcoming 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup, which begins June 6. 

- Josh Sanchez

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.