Wambach named finalist for FIFA Women's World Player of the Year

Monday December 1st, 2014

United States women's national team forward Abby Wambach, Brazil's Marta and Germany's Nadine Kessler have been named the three finalists for the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year 2014 award, the organization announced on Monday.

The three players were chosen from a shortlist of 10 nominees that was announced in October. 

Wambach, 34, previously won the award in 2012. She has scored 14 goals for the U.S. in 16 games this season and scored six goals in 10 games for the Western New York Flash in the National Women's Soccer League. In October, she scored four goals in a 6-0 win in the final of the CONCACAF Women’s World Cup qualifying tournament.

BIRD: Galaxy advance to MLS Cup final

Wambach is the all-time leading scorer for the USWNT with 177 career international goals.

Marta, 28, won the award for five straight years from 2006-2010 and has been a finalist in each of the last three years. Kessler, 26, has never won the award.

The men's finalists for the FIFA Ballon d'Or award, given to the world’s best soccer player, were also announced on Monday

The winners for both awards will be announced by FIFA on Jan. 12.

- Molly Geary

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.