Wambach, Lloyd highlight U.S. Soccer Female Athlete of the Year nominees

Tuesday December 2nd, 2014

U.S. Soccer has selected five nominees for its Female Athlete of the Year award, which will be presented on Saturday, Dec. 6 during the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup Draw.

The players selected were:

• Midfielder Lauren Holiday

• Forward Sydney Leroux

​ Midfielder Carli Lloyd

• Forward Christen Press

• Forward Abby Wambach

Wambach is the only nominee who has previously won the award. She has won six times, taking the honor in 2003, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2011 and 2013. She scored 14 goals and added one assist in 16 caps this year for the women's national team. She scored four times in the CONCACAF Women's Championship against Costa Rica.

• Blatter: FIFA not responsible for Qatar worker welfare

Lloyd made 19 appearances this year and finished second on the team with 10 goals and eight assists. She was named MVP of the CONCACAF Women's Championship after scoring five goals and four assists.

Leroux scored nine goals and dished out five assists in 18 caps this year. She previously was named the Young Female Athlete of the Year in 2011.

Press made 20 appearances and racked up seven goals and five assists. She has been nominated for the award after each of her two seasons playing for the national team.

Holiday, who has been nominated for the award twice before, scored two goals and added three assists in 16 caps this season. Her husband is New Orleans Pelicans point guard Jrue Holiday.

• WAHL: 2014 Sportsman nominee: Tim Howard

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.