England captain Leah Williamson scores the equalizer against Norway five days after their original match.
Niall Carson, PA/Ap Photo

Penalty kick taken 5 days later in U-19 women's Euro qualifier after official's error

By SI Wire
April 10, 2015

History was made when an under-19 women's European Championship qualifying match between England and Norway was replayed five days after the original match because of an officiating error.

During Saturday’s match and England trailing 2-1, midfielder and captain Leah Williamson scored on a spot kick only for German referee Marija Kurtes to rule that encroachment occurred when an English teammate ran into the box before the kick was taken.

But instead of ordering the kick to be retaken, Kurtes gave a free kick to Norway, who proceeded to run out the final 16 seconds of the clock.

• YOUNG: MLS’s growing footprint in Brazil

England appealed the decision of the match and UEFA, Europe’s governing soccer body, took the unprecedented step in allowing a replay of the final 16 seconds.

England and Norway won their final group matches on Thursday in the qualifier, which meant England needed an equalizer in the replay to move on to this summer's European Championship finals in Israel.

In the restarted match played on Thursday, Williamson nailed the spot-kick leading to a 2-2 draw, securing a spot for England. Norway qualified by finishing second in Group 4.

The Return: Planet Fútbol Podcast

Both teams will join France, Sweden, Spain, Germany, Denmark and Israel in the finals, which start July 15.

- Scooby Axson

You May Like