Eden Hazard named FWA footballer of the year

Tuesday May 12th, 2015

Chelsea midfielder Eden Hazard has been named the recipient of the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award, the association announced Tuesday. 

Hazard finished ahead of Tottenham's Harry Kane and teammate John Terry in the voting, garnering more than 50% of all votes.

Hazard has scored 20 goals this season for Chelsea and played an integral role in leading The Blues to a 25-9-2 record and the Premier League championship.

The 24 year old is the third player in Chelsea history to win the honor, joining Gianfranco Zola and Frank Lampard. 

Draw with Chelsea all but means Liverpool's Champions League dreams are over

"The list of truly world-class players on the Football Writers' Association roll of honour is a long one and Eden Hazard is a worthy addition," said FWA chairman Andy Dunn. 

"A creator, a goalscorer and the hardest of workers, Hazard has been a constant source of threat for the Premier League champions.

Hazard signed a five-and-a-half year contract with Chelsea in February worth 57 million pounds. 

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.