FIFA Women's World Cup: Past champions

Friday July 3rd, 2015

The United States and Japan are set to meet for the second straight FIFA Women's World Cup final. The two sides will take the field Sunday in a rematch of the 2011 title game, where Japan knocked off the USA 2–2 on penalties (3–1).

The U.S. haven't won a title since 1999, when they defeated China. This year's championship game marks a record fourth trip to the final for the USA, which will look to set another women's soccer record with a third World Cup victory.

USA-Japan kicks off from Vancouver at 7 p.m. ET Sunday. The game will be televised on Fox.

Past Champions

2011: Japan def. United States 2-2 (3-1 pen.)

2007: Germany def. Brazil 2-0

2003: Germany def. Sweden 2-1

1999: United States def. China 0-0 (5-4 pen.)

1995: Norway def. Germany 2-0

1991: United States def. Norway 2-1

Jeremy Woo

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.