Maracanã to host men's and women's 2016 Olympic gold medal games

Tuesday November 10th, 2015

The Maracanã will host both the men's and women's 2016 Olympic gold medal games, FIFA announced on Tuesday.

The famed venue, which also hosted the men's 2014 World Cup final, will play host to the women's final on Aug. 19, 2016 and the men's final the following day.

Other 2014 World Cup venues that will be used during the Olympic soccer tournament include stadiums in Salvador, Manaus, Brasilia, Sao Paulo and Belo Horizonte, as the entire match schedule was unveiled. Key dates and locations include:

Men's Olympic tournament

Opening Match (August 4): Brasilia

Quarterfinals (August 13): Brasilia, Salvador, Belo Horizonte, Sao Paulo

Semifinals (August 17): Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro (Maracanã Stadium)

Bronze medal match (August 20): Belo Horizonte

Gold medal match (August 20): Rio de Janeiro (Maracanã Stadium)

Women's Olympic tournament

Opening Match (August 3): Rio de Janeiro (Olympic Stadium)

Quarterfinals (August 12): Brasilia, Salvador, Sao Paulo, Belo Horizonte

Semifinals (August 16): Belo Horizonte, Rio de Janeiro (Maracanã Stadium)

Bronze medal match (August 19): Sao Paulo

Gold medal match (August 19): Rio de Janeiro (Maracanã Stadium)

Mexico, the defending men's gold-medal winner, has already qualified for Rio by virtue of winning the CONCACAF men's qualifying tournament. The U.S. is the defending women's champion and will aim to qualify for the summer tournament in January, with CONCACAF qualifiers taking place in Dallas and Houston from Feb. 10-21.

The U.S. men can still qualify for the Olympics, but they'll need to beat Colombia in a two-game playoff in March for a final berth in Rio.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.