CONCACAF names Carli Lloyd, Chicharito 2015 Players of the Year

Friday January 22nd, 2016

CONCACAF has named Carli Lloyd and Javier Hernandez the 2015 Female and Male Players of the Year, respectively.

Lloyd, a midfielder who led the U.S. women's national team to the 2015 World Cup title, has won numerous awards for her play this year, including the World Cup's Golden Ball, 2015 FIFA Women's World Player of the Year and 2015 U.S. Female Soccer Player of the Year.

Lloyd, 33, scored a hat trick in the Women's World Cup Final against Japan, helping the U.S. to a 5-2 victory and its first World Cup title since 1999.

In her first year with the Houston Dash, Lloyd started all 12 games she appeared in, scoring four goals—three of which were game-winners.

U.S. Soccer prospect Christian Pulisic turns heads at Dortmund

Hernandez, who plays for Bayer Leverkusen in the German Bundesliga and the Mexican national team, scored the opener in Mexico's 3–2 CONCACAF Cup victory over the United States, which sent Mexico to the 2017 Confederations Cup. 

CONCACAF announced the winners of 11 awards today.

Americans Tim Howard and Hope Solo were named male and female Goalkeepers of the Year. This year marked the third time Howard was named CONCACAF Male Goalkeeper of the Year, the first time anyone has ever won a CONCACAF award three times in a career.

Other winners:

Men's Coach of the Year: Hernan Dario Gomez (Panama)

Women's Coach of the Year: Jill Ellis (USA)

Referees of the YearJoel Aguilar (El Salvador); Kimberly Moreira (Costa Rica)

Goal of the Year: Carli Lloyd (USA), for her 16th minute goal against Japan in the Women's World Cup Final

- Daniel Hersh

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.