FA charges Diego Costa after Gareth Barry incident

LONDON (AP) — The English Football Association has charged Chelsea striker Diego Costa with improper conduct after being sent off in Saturday's FA Cup loss at Everton.

Costa earned a second yellow card after thrusting his head at Gareth Barry before making a biting motion toward the midfielder's neck. Both players said there was no bite.

Costa also confronted the referee and the FA has given him until Thursday to respond to the charge that his behavior after the sending off "amounted to improper conduct."

The FA has also given Costa until Wednesday to provide his observations about "an alleged gesture he made towards Everton supporters while leaving the pitch at half time."

Costa is facing having his automatic one-match ban increased.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.