Manchester United wins FA Cup after Lingard's extra-time winner

Saturday May 21st, 2016

Manchester United's tumultuous season has ended with the club lifting a record piece of silverware. 

Manchester United, which will reportedly tab Jose Mourinho as its manager at some point after Saturday's final and finished fifth in the Premier League, won its 12th FA Cup title to tie Arsenal for the most ever, beating Crystal Palace 2-1 in extra time. Jesse Lingard's fantastic volley in the 110th minute was the decisive goal, after Juan Mata responded to Jason Puncheon's opener in a late flurry of action in regulation. 

The game marked a rematch of the 1990 final, also won by Manchester United 1-0 in a replay following a 3-3 draw in the first go-around. The result also leaves Crystal Palace in search of its first major trophy. 

Palace thought it had the lead in the 17th minute, but referee Mark Clattenburg whistled for a foul despite Connor Wickham continuing to play on and scoring after getting tackled.

Manchester United's best chance early came through Marouane Fellaini, who nearly opened the scoring just minutes into the second half, but he hit the corner of the woodwork after receiving a pass from Marcus Rashford. 

At last, Puncheon opened the scoring in the 78th minute, coming off the bench to beat David de Gea:

The goal prompted quite the celebration dance from Palace manager Alan Pardew:

The celebration lasted for only a few moments. Mata answered just minutes later, volleying home a ball that Fellani chested in his direction after a superb Wayne Rooney run:

With the match in extra time and Manchester United down a man after Chris Smalling was sent off, Lingard delivered the decisive blow on a spectacular volley in the 110th minute:

With the win, Manchester United secures a place in August's Community Shield match against reigning Premier League champion Leicester City.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.